Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Finally Friday Midtown. Here comes the weekend.

What? More tips and photo’s from New Orleans? Okay. Sunday morning we headed down to Cafe du Monde.

cafe du monde

But first a jog thru the French Quarter. This must be a first for me; jogging in the French Quarter, in the morning. Usually the morning is a time for recovery from the night before. Now I spend the early hours exercising. And we were not the only ones running in the morning. Our route took us from Toulouse and Dauphine to Esplanade, over to Frenchmen St., then down to Cafe Du Monde.

Here is a tip; you can get a cheap breakfast at Quartermaster Deli at 1100 Bourbon St. Get a cheap egg sandwich for $4 and change. See the menu here.

Next, we headed over to Canal and Magazine St. I have been to New Orleans many, many times and have yet to walk down Magazine St. From what I read, the 6.5 miles is made up of shops, restaurants and bars. Cool. We walked for 3.5 miles (each way). Here is a tip. Take the bus. Catch the bus at Canal and Magazine St. The cost is $1.25 (or get the Day Pass for $3.00. Day Pass is sold on the bus by the driver). Take the bus down to the 2000 block of Magazine. That is your first stop.

And here begins my Memphis bus system (MATA) rant. New Orleans bus system (NORTA) has a website that allows you to find where along the bus route the  bus is currently located. This works on computers, tablets and smart phones. Or you can type in the number of your bus stop and get the estimated time of arrival for your bus at your stop. San Antonio has the same system; type in the bus stop number on your phone and get an E.T.A. for your bus arrival. Memphis… what the hell? I read in the paper MANY MONTHS AGO Memphis was supposed to get a G.P.S. enabled system for bus routes (I read this last December!). Get with it MATA. I would ride the bus if I knew what the hell time the bus would arrive. New Orleans was nearly destroyed by a hurricane and they a have G.P.S. enabled bus system; what is your excuse MATA? End of rant.

I had read about a mexican food restaurant named “Juan’s Flying Burrito”.

Juans Flying Burrito

The restaurant is located on Magazine St. GO! I am from Texas. I know Mexican food. This place is the bomb. Get the cheese enchiladas.

flying burrito enchiladas

Get a margarita (you’re riding the bus remember).

beer and margarita's

Two words; awe…some. And I loved the music. The restaurant plays music by bands such as The Misfits. Rock on. Again, go!

After a long walk back to the French Quarter and hotel, we headed to Finnegans Easy for a couple of drinks and to people watch. New Orleans always satisfies for people watching. Come back again for more New Orleans photo’s, restaurants and tips.

Hey, what did you do TONIGHT? How about dinner at the Old Venice Pizza Company. This was my first time eating here. My thoughts? Fantastic. We met another couple and had appetizers which were very good. I ordered spaghetti and soup (the Holy Crab and Crawfish Chowder soup was EXCELLENT!). Order this! We will be returning to this restaurant. And I also must say the service was excellent. Thanks for dinner B & T!

The next stop was the LAST night of Starry Nights at Shelby Farms. I have been thru the park many times riding in and out on my commute to work. Tonight would be my first official visit to Starry Nights. Our friends had a pass, so we drove slowly thru Shelby Farms to see the lights. I recognized much of the park, even without the headlights on. I want to come to the park next year for the event… to ride my bicycle thru. I can’t wait.

I am off of work Saturday, time to sleep in late. And now time for a drink. See YOU back here for more NOLA, drinks, eats and holiday cheer.

Memphis Events:

The British Arrow Awards: Brooks Museum 1/12/13 2:00 p.m. $8 non-members. Go! We attend every year. Funny commercials from the U.K. And the crowd is large so don’t wait until the last-minute people.

britishtelevision2

Newbie Brew Day – Jan. 27th Get more information at Fuzzy Brew. Go… and make beer!

