Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

And… I’m back. Time for the Thanksgiving wrap up for 2012.

Tuesday. 9:00 a.m. I am bored. After cleaning the house, I sat on the couch. What to do? How about a 20 minute run in Cooper Young? (Couch to 5K, day 2) The weather outside was perfect. Loved the weather and the run. The run made me sweat.

Wednesday. 9:00 a.m. What to do? How about a 4 mile bike ride to Republic Coffee and back? I’m in. I took my Kelty Drifter back pack with me

and placed my tool kit AND my Ipad Mini in it as well. Then I placed the backpack into my bike basket. I discovered if I turned the volume all the way up (to 11) on the Mini, I could hear my music just fine while riding. I did see a man riding his bike, and at first I thought he had a toddler carriage on the back of the bike. I was wrong. He had his dog on the back of his bike. Rock on.

Thursday. Hmmm…. I know I’m going to eat like a pig later in the evening. Must do something. How about a run in Cooper Young? (Couch to 5K, day 3) So I set off for a 20 minute run. I ran to Cooper Young. The intersection was a ghost town. Almost everything was closed for the day.

After the run, I hit the showers and headed to a friends for Thanksgiving. Turkey? Check. Ham? Check. Sides? Yes. English people? Correct. Wait. What? The party featured a woman from England here in Memphis for the first time. I chatted with her about England (The English DO NOT celebrate Thanksgiving. A co-worker asked me that question. “Thanks for leaving our country! ‘Bout time those rowdy pilgrims left.” The English DO NOT celebrate the Fourth of July either. They get that question as well. “We lost the war! We lost the war! Hooray! Let’s celebrate!” History, it’s not just for history majors anymore.) I asked about the health care system in the U.K. Most citizens pay 11% tax on their earnings for healthcare. But after you pay the tax, you do not pay another dime for healthcare. And contrary to what you’ve heard, there are no long waits to see the doctor. (That was my question.) They love their healthcare system.

And after the dinner? Strawberry cake. Apple pie. Cheese cakes. Can I eat any more? Wow. Good food and good laughs. We had a great time.

Friday. I worked part of the day. Arriving home, I decided to go for a bike ride. Hmmm…. how about a “Little Free Library” bike ride.

That’s correct, I decided to ride by three L.F.L.’s in Cooper Young. (The map is posted at http://www.mapmyride.com under the title “Little Free Library Bike Ride”).

The first L.F.L. I stopped by is on Peabody (south side of the street) and Cooper.

The next L.F.L. is on Carr near McLean (south side of the street on Carr).

Opening the library door, I noticed there were many children books inside. If you have kids, this L.F.L. is for you.

I then made my way south down McLean. This was the first time I have used this bike lane. Nice ride down the street. I then headed east and found this “Puzzle Truck”.

Memphis has some interesting automobiles on the streets.

Lastly, I headed down New York (just north of Young) for the last L.F.L.

I really like the beer bottle caps on this L.F.L. Very cool and creative. The last time I checked, this L.F.L. was not listed on the official map for Little Free Library.

Dinner? How about some wings from Central BBQ.

We drove by Central BBQ at 5:20 p.m. No line! Goal! As soon as we were seated, EVERYONE arrived and stood in line. I love me some wings 🙂

Yeah, I’m done for the day. I hope your Thanksgiving was as good as mine. I have much to be thankful for. See YOU here again soon. Cheers.

