Tags

, , , ,

Waffle Wednesday Midtown. Or better known as “Hump Day”. Lonnnnng day today. I was up early and I worked late. That will be my schedule for the next couple of weeks.

The plan for Thursday is a haircut in the morning. I have had my hair cut by Pam at Epic Salon ( (901) 818-5501 * 712 S. Mendenhall Rd.) for nearly 6 years. She is GREAT. Ladies if you need a professional person to style your hair, Pam is the person to set an appointment with.

What? More questions for Sock It To Me Burlesque? I’ve got answers for you from performer Madonna Putana.

Living Loud In Midtown LLIMT: How many routines do you perform in during the show? 2nd part of the question; is that average?
Sock It To Me Burlesque performer Madonna Putana: Usually 2 solos and a group act. I think that is average for us. I think it’s better to have a few acts to do well than overload yourself. Plus, it’s more of a tease to just be up there for a little bit…leave the audience wanting to see more.
LLIMT: And you thought show biz was easy people. Being on stage is harder than you think.

LLIMT: Are you excited about the “16 Scandals” show?
Madonna Putana: Very! I think this is going to be a lot of fun, not only for the performers but for the audience as well. We aim to put on an entertaining show!
LLIMT: When I heard about the show a while back my jaw hit the floor. A John Hughes tribute show featuring a burlesque group? Sign me up. Now THAT is a cool idea.

LLIMT: Do you see some of the same audience members at SITM Burlesque shows?
Madonna Putana: Yes, we are happy to see many faces return again and again. We love our audience and it’s nice to have a loyal following! The burlesque scene is growing here in Memphis, and I think you will see many of the same folks at other troupe’s performances too and some of the independently produced shows. It’s becoming an amazing community!
LLIMT: I have noticed more burlesque events here in Memphis in the last few years. Bring it on Memphis.

LLIMT: What is it like back stage prior to a show?
Madonna Putana: Well, that depends on the venue! Usually a lot of glitter and fast changing and we help each other out a lot. There can be stressful moments, but what I love about SITM is we have found a balance where we are all on the same page and have each other’s backs. It’s truly a family. And we have had a great working relationship with The Hi Tone. They take great care of us and give us plenty of room to change and get ready.
LLIMT: I have been back stage at many venues and some were great and some were really bad. Doing a show at a venue that takes care of you makes things so much easier for the performer.

LLIMT: The first time you performed on stage, were you nervous? And now?
Madonna Putana: As a burlesque performer, not really. I already had stage experience…my degree is a BFA in Theater and Dance from the University of Memphis. So I had already got past stage fright years ago. I was a little nervous about how I’d be received. I’m a big, tall, thick girl… and I was even larger then. And most of the ladies I was on stage with were more, I thought, conventionally attractive. But I have found that it has not only NOT held me back, but that people love it. It’s not what you’ve got, in the end, it’s how you work it. And from the beginning, I wanted to get up there, with all my many imperfections, and rock it…so that maybe other gals in the audience who might be going through issues with their bodies can see that if someone like me can do it, be confidant and feel sexy, then they can too.
LLIMT: I find it amazing that performers are not nervous on stage. I even told a burlesque performer “I couldn’t do this!” (I’m to self-conscious), and I speak in front of groups of people on a weekly basis (I always get nervous right before I walk into the room, but once I begin I’m relaxed). Madonna Putana, you have more moxy than I do.

LLIMT: How did you get your stage name?
Madonna Putana: Well, I named it after the Madonna/Whore complex…To quote Wikipedia “The view of women as either Madonnas or whores limits women’s sexual expression, offering two mutually exclusive ways to construct a sexual identity.[4] The duality implies that women must assume subservient roles, either as madonnas to be protected or as whores to be punished by men.[5]. .”
I like lampooning that and turning it on its head and I think that is part of what Burlesque does. It’s empowering to overcome that and, I think it is important to remember that yes, nice girls like to have sex.
Also, it’s a rather nasty, blasphemous vulgarity in Italian. Which is why, I guess, my Facebook page has so many people from Italy and Europe on it. One young man in Italy even has me listed as his mother. (I don’t have any kids). It’s hilarious!
LLIMT: I enjoy the fact that burlesque pushes things to the limit. Our society is WAY to serious. Lighten up. Have a good time. That is what burlesque is about.

LLIMT: Lastly, funniest thing that has happened to you while performing in front of an audience?
Madonna Putana: My first time out, in 2008, I had a “wardrobe malfunction”. Let’s leave it at that. 😉
LLIMT: Now that is funny, especially for your first time out. Well I guess you will not forget that show (and neither will the audience).

Okay Midtown, you heard it here. GO SEE THE SHOW! If Madonna Putana is getting up on stage to perform, then you can sit in the audience and enjoy the show. $10? Come on, you can’t beat the price for live entertainment.

Get ready for the weekend Midtown, because it is right around the corner. Cheers.

Make sure to check out the stuff I purchased on the top of the page.

Memphis Events:

Sock It To Me Burlesque – Hi-Tone, November 10th, Doors at 9, $10 tickets. The John Hughes tribute show; “16 Scandals”. Go!

