Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s cold outside, but my mouth is on fire. Let me tell ya about it.

Dinner last night was spent at Mulan Cooper Young. And yes I ordered the Pad Thai Chicken.

You can’t go wrong with this plate. And yes there is enough food for two OR… leftovers for lunch on Saturday. My wife ordered sushi.

After arriving home, I spent a short while finishing the e-library book by James Patterson “The Murder of King Tut”. I loved the book, except Patterson ties his murder conspiracy together much to easily. His entire book is based on one paragraph he writes in the book about his murder theory. I have read various Tut murder conspiracy theories and Patterson uses several “one-off” clues to create “his” version of past deadly events. Again great book, but I’m not sure I buy “his” version.

Thankfully I slept in late this morning. 12 hours of sleep! 12! Loved it. Next stop? Republic Coffee. I sat and read The Memphis Flyer, the news and a book for a while.

Although the temperature was 57 degrees, we braved the cold and headed downtown for the River Arts Festival.

Brrr…. Yes there were some very good artwork for sale.

Check out the animals.

And… the raccoon blowing bubbles.

I did see this:

Fantastic Signs downtown on S. Main. Shouldn’t there be a Cash sign too?

Near the Arcade we saw this couple posing for pictures.

Walking back around, we headed over to Central BBQ downtown. This is my first visit to the downtown location.

Wait, there’s more. This place is HUGE.

That’s right, big open windows to people watch. The inside of the place looks great.

Time for eats. What is on our plate? Half chicken and sides.

I ordered the wings of course.

The dry rub was a bit spicy for me, but I LOVE the wings. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Lastly, this sums up how I made my way to Memphis.

If you need something to do Sunday, there is the film “The Imposter” at the Brooks Museum at 2:00 p.m. This is supposed to be a great film. Check it out.

Have a great weekend Midtown and I will see YOU out and about. Cheers.

And make sure to check out the stuff I purchased on the top of the page.

Memphis Events:

Memphis Ballet “The River Project”. Where? Playhouse on the Square. When? October 20–28, 2012 Show times 2p & 8p. Length approx. 90 min. Go!

River Arts Festival: Downtown, South Main, October 26th-28th. This year there will be a $5 admission charge. Go!

The Imposter: Oct. 28th 2:00 p.m. Movie at the Brooks Museum. $6 members / $8 non-members. 

Cooper Young First Thursday – Thursday Nov. 1st. Cooper Young. Go!

Sock It To Me Burlesque – Hi-Tone, November 10th, Doors at 9, $10 tickets. The John Hughes show; “16 Scandals”. Go!

