Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Midtown. And here we go…

Rewind. Sunday. I was hungry for wings. We were riding down Poplar and noticed Wing Stop. This will be the first time I have tried the food at Wing Stop. Looking over the menu, I picked the Louisiana Spice dry rub (WITH the chicken on the bone).

What did I think? The spice? Good. The over all flavor? In my opinion, the wings crust had the flavor of Kentucky Fried Chicken. If I wanted KFC, I would have picked up some KFC (and I am not a fan of KFC). Were the wings bad? Not at all. The wings were not my cup of tea. If Wing Stop was great, why didn’t they make Best Of Memphis? I am sure Wing Stop has its fans. Everyone has their own opinion… and I have mine. The search goes on for the best wings in Memphis.

New event Midtown. Ready for some burlesque? Even better, who doesn’t like the director John Hughes. Now you get both Midtown; 16 Scandals! A Tribute to John Hughes. That’s right, Sock It To Me Burlesque and John Hughes movies combined for one show. The show is at the Hi-Tone, November 10th, Doors at 9, $10 tickets. Get more information and tickets here and more event information here. Go!

And get ready for the rant… “What would my neighbors say if I attended a burlesque show?” Bring them with you! If you have never been to a burlesque show, try one out. I promise, the shows are FUN and COOL. Don’t be afraid, the performers don’t bite… most of the time 😉  The event is supposed to fun, bawdy, silly, and entertaining.

Trolley Night is upon us again. The event sneaks up on me every month. Head downtown friday night for art, wine and snacks on October 26th. We love attending this event. Check it out Midtown.

Lastly, I downloaded a book from the Memphis Public Library. The book? James Patterson “The Murder of King Tut”. (The work is non-fiction)

First off, I am not a fan of James Patterson. I do not read his books. But…this book is FANTASTIC! Get this book! I’m only 10% into the book and I cannot stop reading the thing. I have read a good deal about ancient Egypt, but this book puts you right into ancient Egypt like you were standing there. Was the boy king murdered? Read the book to find out. Thank you Memphis Public Library! Free book!

Monday you beat me. I’m done. See YOU back here for more wings, books, and trolleys. Cheers.

And make sure to check out the stuff I purchased on the top of the page.

Memphis Events:

Memphis Ballet “The River Project”. Where? Playhouse on the Square. When? October 20–28, 2012 Show times 2p & 8p. Length approx. 90 min. Go!

Trolley Night– Friday October 26th S. Main. Art, food, and wine. Go! The fun begins at 6:00 p.m.

River Arts Festival; Downtown, South Main, October 26th-28th. This year there will be a $5 admission charge. Go!

Sock It To Me Burlesque – Hi-Tone, November 10th, Doors at 9, $10 tickets. The John Hughes show; “16 Scandals”. Go!

