Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Midtown. And since it is Monday, I slept in. 12 hours to be exact. My birthday wore me out.

What did I do today? Work. Pushed paper to be exact. In other news…

Feeling evil? This week www.lifehacker.com features “evil” posts. Not that I am evil or “want” to hack a computer, but there are some good posts. Read more “evil” posts at www.lifehacker.com.

And all though the post wasn’t “evil”, lifehacker did post about an extension for your browser called scoopinion. The site is supposed to “learn” from your browsing history and recommend stories just for you. I tried the site out just now and in seconds actually found a book I may be interested in (Austin Grossman’s “You”. The book has been added to my amazon wish list).

Music. Since my surgery, music has been on the back burner for some reason. That changed today. Driving home, I turned on the Ipod and found the band Triumph. The album? “Stages”. Killer live album. So driving home I was singing along to the songs “Lay it on the line”, “A world of fantasy”, and “Fight the good fight” with the windows rolled down. And yes, I saw the band live in the 80’s. This Canadian band was known for their excellent light show.

Wait, how did you get the idea of listening to Triumph? Late night t.v. can be entertaining. Last week the US Festival was shown late at night. If you are too young to remember the US Festival, let’s just say many 80’s band gathered in California to play for 500,000 people on Memorial Day Weekend in 1983. It was the height of the 80’s and everyone was hot and sweaty. I remember watching the event on cable t.v. back then. The US Festival was awesome (totally awesome) then, and the event is still awesome now. Triumph rocked out. Although Triumph planned a reunion tour several years ago, the tour never happened. Singer Rik Emmett continues to tour and plays a great show (I worked his show several years ago). Which basically means now I am shopping on Amazon for the Triumph live dvd from the US Festival.

And to top off my listening experience this afternoon, I finished my drive with Anthrax “Indians” and Saxon “The bands played on”. Perfect way to end the day.

See YOU back here for more classic rock, and 80’s bands. Cheers.

And check out the “Stuff I Purchased” at the top of the page.

Memphis Events:

Broad Ave. Art Walk. Saturday October 20th, 2-8 p.m. FREE.

Memphis Ballet “The River Project”. Where? Playhouse on the Square. When? October 20–28, 2012 Show times 2p & 8p. Length approx. 90 min. Go!

Night Ranger performs at Southland Park in West Memphis, Oct 20th. Tickets are $15. You “know” you know all the words to “Sister Christian”.

River Arts Festival; Downtown, South Main, October 26th-28th. This year there will be a $5 admission charge. Go!

