Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Real quick like…. I finished my book last night “Return to Atlantis”

by Andy McDermott. The last 5% of the book was all action packed. So much action that I couldn’t sleep after the climatic end of the book. Now I need another book to read…

And yesterday evening I felt like warming up some apple juice and mixing in cinnamon and mulling spices (we picked up both spices from Penzeys last year). The drink turned out terrific! Perfect for a cold day.

Since I couldn’t sleep last night, I recorded the movie “The Thing” (2011 version; IMBD).

After sleeping in Sunday, I turned on the DVR to watch “The Thing”. Of course the movie was not as good as “The Thing” by John Carpenter (1982). The movie did keep me captivated for 1 1/2 hours.

Other than “The Thing” we did attend the “Trashion Show” on Broad Street tonight. Think dresses made from recycled materials. I know, the temperature was in the 50’s. It was cold! We did manage to eat some food and have a couple of drinks. Sorry, no pictures. The light was low and the cold dampened my spirits. The mayor started the show and did mention the new bike lanes (which I applauded). As in most fashion shows, there were hits and misses. I was interested in how recycled goods could be made into dresses and hats. Some of the dresses were great. Especially the last dress of the evening. The dress was white with splashes of blue with a billowing bottom.

Afterwards we headed to Central BBQ for some wings.

I’m officially a resident of Memphis now. I love me some wings. These wings have to be top in Memphis. Wet or dry, Central BBQ does wings right.

I’m done for the night. Have a great week and KEEP WARM!

And check out “Stuff I Purchased” at the top of the page.

Memphis Events:

Since Republic Coffee scored high again for votes in BOM, Republic Coffee will offer a $3 special menu for food and drinks on Thursday Oct. 11, all day.

The Pink Palace Craft Fair, Oct. 12-14. Go!

The movie The Goonies will be presented at The Orpheum downtown Friday October 12th at 7:15 p.m. $7 for adults, $5 for children.

The Cooper Young Regional Beerfest. Saturday October 13th (my birthday) 1-5. $35 advance $40 (if avail. at door). I went last year. Great festival to hang and talk to the locals in the neighborhood. Plus GREAT beer. Go! Beer Fest!

Greenline Birthday Party – 10-13-2012 Memphis Greenline. Yeah, check out various area’s along the Greenline. Bikes, bands and food will be there. Will you?

Broad Ave. Art Walk. Saturday October 20th, 2-8 p.m. FREE.

Night Ranger performs at Southland Park in West Memphis, Oct 20th. Tickets are $15. You “know” you know all the words to “Sister Christian”.

River Arts Festival; Downtown, South Main, October 26th-28th. This year there will be a $5 admission charge. Go!

