Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Waffle Wednesday Midtown. Get some.

Hot morning wasn’t it. And the wind was blowing as well. From the east. Exactly the way I was riding. Nice ride though. The wind did kick up at the bottom of Shelby Farms making my ride slower.

But the ride home was fantastic. The wind was to my back, the temperature was not to hot and I had good music in my ears. I felt I could have rolled forever. Love days like that.

Library tip: You have to renew your library card every year. (I did not know that) So I rolled to the library on Poplar and popped in to renew my card. The process took two seconds. The rest of Memphis government needs to work this way. As I was leaving a young guy walked by me. He said I parked my bicycle on the wrong side of the library. (I was parked in front of the used book store at the library, the north side). He went on to say that his bicycle was stolen from the north side of the library (right side as you face the front of the library) because the book store closes at 6:00 p.m. Mon. – Thurs.  (5:00 p.m. on Friday). No one notices inside if someone is attempting to steal your bicycle. He said your bikes are safer on the south side (left side as you face the front) of the library. Good point.

Big news. Today was the last day for my bicycle commute to work for a few months. Actually today was the last day for “any” bicycle ride for a couple of months. I am having surgery this week. The surgery will keep me from moving a whole lot for a few weeks. The medication will not let me focus well for a couple of weeks. Since it is doubtful you want to read about surgery recovery, pain and the delusions I will have, this daily blog will take a break for a few weeks. Not that I want to stop writing, but I will not be able to focus on much for a few weeks.

I do want to give a shout out to the person who cheered me on today for my last bike ride for a while. I told him at the Midnight Classic Bike Ride that this week would be the last week I would be commuting to work by bike. Thanks again for the “rock on” attitude.

My goal is to get out of the hospital within 7 days. Take a bike ride in four weeks, and begin to commute to work again in 3 months. Big goals, big plans. I did have similar surgery 2.5 years ago. At that time I was overweight and out of shape. This time around I am in good shape. I am hoping this makes a difference in the next few days.

Hey, while I am away, get out. Do stuff. See the city. Go to festivals, new restaurants, and do new things. I will see YOU back here in a few weeks. Cheers!

Check out the “Stuff I Purchased” on the top left side of the page.

Memphis Events:

Macy’s Zoo Brew – Friday August 31, 7-10 at the Memphis Zoo.

Trolley Night – Friday 8-31-2012 South Main downtown. The fun begins at 6:00 p.m. Go!

Greenline Birthday Party – 10-13-2012 Memphis Greenline

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest – 10/13/2012 Cooper Young

