Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thirsty Thursday Midtown. Coffee. Get some. Really.

I wanted to sleep in late this morning; 7:20 a.m. I SKIPPED COFFEE. If you drink coffee every morning and you skip a morning… you are going to pay for it later in the day. My body refused to get into motion today. I felt sluggish all day long.

And because I had to work outside today, I didn’t bike to work. I can work outside or bike to work, but I can’t do both in this heat.

I listened to Rush – “Clockwork Angels” as I drove home today. A “different” album by the band. The music is a little “out there” but good. The album opens with “Caravan”. A mid tempo rocker song that swings. BU2B plays second. With a quirky opening, this songs moves on to another heavy sounding rocking tune. The album title song “Clockwork Angels” is third in line. Again, another odd sounding opening. There are some interesting sounding guitar and echo effects that are used on the album. “Anarchist” follows the title song. A poppy mid tempo rocking song, with great drum fills and bass lines. “Carnies” follows. Again, another odd sounding intro that follows with a heavy, pounding sound. “Halo Effect” brings out the acoustic guitar and vocals, that slides into electric guitar with drums. “Seven Cities of Gold” has a funky bass line with drum fills and guitar effects. The song builds to a driving, plodding beat. “The Wreckers” is up next. A lighter tune with fat bass in the mix. “Headlong Flight” begins with a riff and turns into a march. The drums and vocals are brought in support the riff. “BU2B2” a quick classical sounding tune, which only lasts for a little over a minute. “Wish Them Well” sounds like some of the bands earlier music from the seventies, which is a good thing. I like my interpretation of the song. The sound is upbeat. “The Garden” is the last song in line. Another interesting intro with acoustic guitar. My take on the album as a whole? If you joined 12 odd dreams together, this is what you would get. The album has a “fever dream” quality feel to it. Rush made this album for themselves. Their sound is moving back to heavy guitar rock. “Clockwork Angels” is not “Moving Pictures”. A few songs do not appeal to me. Many of the songs are good. I give the album 7.5 stars out of 10.

Zoo Brew? Oh yeah. I attended the Zoo Brew two years ago. Two words; GET THERE EARLY. Most booths do not have lines in the early evening. I loved the event when I attended. Pace yourself. The event is three hours of beer drinking. Go! Get your Zoo Brew information here. Friday August 31, 7-10.

Oh yeah, Doug at www.bikinginmemphis.com has a new post (7/31). Read it! Great post as always. And the news about Madison Ave. bike racks is great as well.

I was going to stop in at the store to purchase cheap beer. After I saw the Magic Hat Wheat Beer (you had me at “Magic Hat”), I changed my mind. Magic Hat is an excellent beer and I have yet to try this the wheat beer version.
Time to try it out!
See YOU here tomorrow for more beers, coffee and bikes. Cheers.
Check out the “Stuff I Purchased” on the top left side of the page.

Memphis Events:

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

“Hell Yes Burlesque” – 8/25/2012 Hi-Tone. Doors 9, Show @ 10. $10 tickets.

Macy’s Zoo Brew – Friday August 31, 7-10 at the Memphis Zoo.

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest – 10/13/2012

