Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Waffle Wednesday Midtown. It’s hot outside!

Bike to work this morning. I stopped in at Coffee Town and discussed the guy who walks “in the street” on Union with the staff. The staff saw the same guy on Poplar walking in the street. Watch out Midtown.

I finished my coffee and headed east down the Greenline. The ride was good this morning. It was HOT even at 7:25 a.m. Pedal, pedal, pedal. No flats this morning. After I made some adjustments to a tire, my ride felt smoother. By 8:25 a.m., the sweat was pouring off me.

How did I start the day? Staff – “The phones are not working.” Me – “You have to take the phones off “DO NOT DISTURB”. Staff – “I turned the phone volume up, the phones won’t ring”. Me – “You have to take the phones off “DO NOT DISTURB”. Staff – “The phones are turned all the way up. They are not ringing.” Me – “You have to take the phones off “DO NOT DISTURB”. I walked over to the phones and turned off the “DO NOT DISTURB” button on the phones. The phones began to ring…

Work was interesting. A water pipe broke in the ceiling, sending gallons of water down the two-story office building. I shook my head. My prediction? It will take the county “4 weeks” to fix the problem. “First we have to order the part. Then we have to wait for the part. Then we have to put in a work requisition. Then we have to “work” on the problem.” Yeah, four weeks to fix the broken water pipe is my prediction. (For those of you playing at home, a light in our office took 6 months to fix. “First we have to order the part…”)

Ride home? HOT. I did plan ahead and brought my bike bag with water. Even better, I brought along an ice pack. For the ride home I placed the ice pack next to the cold water bag in the back pack. Even colder water! I needed it. That heat was something else. By the end of the ride I was soaked with sweat.

Time for an adult beverage. See YOU back here tomorrow for more summer sun, bikes and coffee. Cheers.

Want something to do? Take your bikes along the Greenline to Shelby Farms. Here is the info: Bluff City Backsliders – July 19 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Check out the “Stuff I Purchased” on the top left side of the page.

Memphis Events:

Bluff City Backsliders – July 19 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Side Street Steppers – July 26 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Jeremy Shrader & the Hot Memphis Four – Aug. 2. Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest – 10/13/2012

