Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Two for Tuesday Midtown. What a day.

Bike to work. I decided to ride slightly slower than I usually do this morning. Since I was riding slower, I thought I would arrive at work later than usual. Since I had some extra energy, I finished the ride strong and arrived to work on time.

Work was crazy, and today was paperwork day! Even with my headphones on, the music did not drown out the insanity.

The ride home? Two miles into the ride home I had a flat tire. Yes I carry a spare tube. Changing a tire in the hot sun is no fun. I put the new tire on and rolled away unhappy. Just as I was thinking about how hot and thirsty I was, I noticed two kids standing under the bridge near Podesta. One held a sign. “Water / Soda $.75.” Oh yeah. I’ll pay seventy-five cents for cold water. Should have snapped a picture of the two. They did comment on my “Memphis Skull” shirt.

And yes, it was the WRONG DAY to wear a black shirt. So the bike ride ended with a stop by Busters for some cheap vodka. Next stop was Peddler Bicycle store. The sign said “Closed” on the door but I went inside anyway. I just need some spare tubes! The guys were great and sold me some extra tubes for my bicycle.

Arriving home, I had steak taco’s for dinner, and then dug into some watermelon. Love it! Then I headed back outside to work on the bicycle. I wanted to make sure the tire was on the rim properly. After checking the back tire, I checked the latest busted tires. Yes, I found a leak in the tire. The leak in the tube came from the area near the rim of the tube. I will have to keep an eye on the tire. This is two busted tires in two weeks. Not a good sign.

Midtown residents; be carefull. There is a guy walking in street on Union. Yes, “walking in the street”. Not on the side of the street, but in the lane. I have watched him twice now walking down Union, middle of the lane. Once headed against traffic. He wears black slacks, and a black long sleeve shirt. The street-walker has a slender build and appears to be in his late twenties. He doesn’t “appear” to be crazy, but…

We now know who will occupy the corner of Madison and Cooper. Welcome “Bar Louie” to Memphis. Food and drinks. 5600 square feet of fun. Opening? Plans are to have the place open by January 1st. I can see the place well attended Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Monday – Wednesday? We will see. Read more about “Bar Louie” here from Memphis Daily News.

Done for the day. Come back tomorrow for more Busters, bicycles and taco’s. Cheers.

Check out the “Stuff I Purchased” on the top left side of the page.

Memphis Events:

Bluff City Backsliders – July 19 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Side Street Steppers – July 26 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Jeremy Shrader & the Hot Memphis Four – Aug. 2. Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest – 10/13/2012

