Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Rain Midtown! I almost forgot what rain looked like. And Two for Tuesday today.

The day began at Republic Coffee. I checked the news and sipped my coffee. Then it was time to hit the Greenline. The morning ride was fine. I made good time.

Tuesday, paper work day. Yeah, I spent hours going over paper work. At least I had some music to work to. I clicked “play”, listening to “The Social Network”. I enjoy reading and doing paper work while playing the album. Not sure why, but it works for me.

Since I saw the storm approaching I decided to leave work early. My ride west began at 3:45 p.m. Dark clouds were over head. Here we go. I made my way to the bottom of Shelby Farms. At this point I forgot to mount my Flip camera to my bicycle. What could happen? The light turned green and I crossed the intersection heading north. That car turning east will stop. That CAR turning east will stop. That CAR turning east will STOP. THAT CAR IS NOT STOPPING! Son#^aB&*& and F&^$&! I can’t believe it. I AM RIGHT IN FRONT OF YOU. HOW DO YOU NOT SEE ME? I was forced to ride into the median to avoid the hit. Time to change tactics. I may have to go with the “wave” to the cars before the light changes. I may have to use the “flashing light” at the intersection. Last resort? Air horn. Bet the motorists could hear me if not see me. I haven’t changed anything recently regarding how I cross the intersection at the bottom of Shelby Farms. Maybe just a run a bad luck.

I made my way up Shelby Farms to the Greenline. At this time, there were few people out. Maybe the rain kept most people off of the Greenline this afternoon. “I can still make it.  I can beat the rain.” Here comes the race, second day in a row. I made good time pushing the bicycle west towards home. At the half way point of Waring, the rain started to fall; hard. I was lucky enough to be near tree’s, allowing me to stop to cover myself with a rain poncho. Ride on, rain be damned. Yes my shoe’s were “sloshy”, filled to the brim with rain water. But my clothes were dry. At various intersections I waved to motorists as I rode by. “Crazy guy, riding in the rain.” My rain ride lasted only 15 minutes, so not a problem.

After I arrived home, I downloaded the app “Good Reads”. I am currently putting some books into my profile. We will see how the app works out. The reviews for the app are good.

Time for a drink Midtown. See YOU back here tomorrow for more books, bikes and beers. Cheers.

Check out the “Stuff I Purchased” on the top left side of the page.

Memphis Events:

Bluff City Backsliders – July 19 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Side Street Steppers – July 26 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Jeremy Shrader & the Hot Memphis Four – Aug. 2. Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest – 10/13/2012

