Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Finally Friday Midtown. My problem? I have to work Saturday 😦

This morning I stopped in at Republic Coffee. While reading the news, I discovered that a coffee shop had opened in the neighborhood. Well, more like “relocated” into the neighborhood. The Edge has moved into a place at the corner of Peabody and Cooper. I attempted to stop in at The Edge last year during my “Great Iced Coffee Bicycle Tour”. When I stopped by in the afternoon, I found The Edge was closed until the evening. Since the coffee shop has relocated closer to me, I will have to give the place a try. And yes, some coffee shops have a “cult-like” following. They should give me a pass. “I drink coffee everyday!” Read more about The Edge and the new location here from the Commercial Appeal.

Finishing my coffee, I jumped on the bicycle for the ride to the east side of town. Good ride this morning. Yes, that was me singing Metallica and Saxon tunes along the Greenline. By the time I arrived to work, I was hot!

To make matters worse, I had to work outside today for two hours. That sun was beating down on me. By the time my job was complete outside, I was covered in sweat. I drank some water and cooled off, then changed into work attire.

Returning from lunch, I discovered a work computer had a computer virus. Ahhhh!!!!! You are kidding me. I started the computer in safe mode, and could use the laptop, but not in the way I really wanted to use the computer. I am hoping the I.T. department  can correct the problem this weekend.

But wait, it gets better. While walking by my bicycle, I noticed my tire looked funny. You guessed it, I had a flat tire 😦

Yes I have a spare tube. Yes I have a tool kit. But it was so hot outside, I didn’t feel like changing the tire. Looking over the tire, I noticed how worn the tire had become. And I also saw what looked like a small puncture hole. I ride at least five days a week, 22.4 miles a day or more. I’ve had these tires since last October when the tires were new. You can do the math, but there are some miles on those tires. Next stop? (but not tomorrow!) Bike shop for some new tires.

I stored my bicycle at work and we headed out to eat dinner at Las Delicias on Park. For you rookies out there, if you do not arrive before 5:30 p.m. you will wait in line. Good luck getting a table. The food? Okay. I always get the steak taco’s. Always. My wife gets various dishes and margarita’s. Also, the church book store and hair shop across the street is stopping diners from parking in their lot. Well at least until 5:30 p.m. Then they get tired of standing in the heat, telling people not to park in the lot. Weird. I understand but maybe they should charge to park in the lot next door instead of being an annoyance.

Oh yes, I received a few items in the mail that I had ordered. More on those items later.

Plans for Saturday? Work. Till 5:00 p.m. I will make an appearance at a certain coffee shop prior to work. YOU get out and have fun Saturday while I work. Cheers!

Check out the “Stuff I Purchased” on the top left side of the page.

Memphis Events:

Cycle Memphis 1 Year Anniversary Ride – July 7th 7:00 p.m. Corner of Cooper / Young. I attended the first ride a year ago. Go!

Bluff City Backsliders – July 19 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Side Street Steppers – July 26 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Jeremy Shrader & the Hot Memphis Four – Aug. 2. Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest – 10/13/2012

