Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thirsty Thursday Midtown. With the heat outside, it is easy to be thirsty.

My morning began at Republic Coffee. I ordered my coffee and chatted about BBQ sauce with the staff. Seems I can make my own sauce. Sounds like a plan.

At 7:20 a.m., I headed east along the Greenline. I saw most of the usual suspects along the Greenline like I do most mornings. This morning though it appeared many people were in a great mood. I guess that day off does wonders to your attitude. Person after person waved to me this morning. Great way to start the day.

As I neared the end of my ride on the east side of Memphis, I noticed my bike chain catching slightly. Rolling up the last 50 feet, my chain locked. What was going on? I jumped off the bike and had a look. Apparently my bike rack had lost a nut and bolt. Doh! I carry tools in my tool kit. Wanna know how many nuts and bolts I carry? ZERO. Okay, look for an extra nut and bolt. Yes, I have a few extra attachments pieced together on my bicycle. I did find ONE spare nut and bolt. Tightened that sucker up good and the bicycle was fixed.

Work was work. By the end of the day, I hit the Greenline at 5:35 p.m. Yes, hot wind and a hot bicycle ride. I had my water and put a bandana on my head to help absorb the sweat. I was surprised how good my speed was though. Nearing the end of my bicycle ride, I sped under the Holmes St. bridge near Tillman and the western end of the Greenline. One teen was standing near the bridge calling out to someone. As I went by, his partner threw fireworks at me. Nice. As I neared the end of the Greenline another cyclist started his ride. I warned him about the fireworks near the bridge. Picked up the cell phone and called M.P.D. After a ten minute wait, I gave them the information about the teens throwing fireworks. I didn’t have so much of a problem with the fireworks, but others may have not been so forgiving. Easier to let the police deal with the problem.

Dinner tonight? Memphis Pizza Cafe. A nice cool salad and a calzone. Excellent.

Although tomorrow is Friday, I still have to work Saturday. Stay cool and get ready for Friday Midtown. See YOU back here tomorrow for more beers, bikes and fireworks. Cheers.

Check out the “Stuff I Purchased” on the top left side of the page.

Memphis Events:

Cycle Memphis 1 Year Anniversary Ride – July 7th 7:00 p.m. Corner of Cooper / Young. I attended the first ride a year ago. Go!

Bluff City Backsliders – July 19 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Side Street Steppers – July 26 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Jeremy Shrader & the Hot Memphis Four – Aug. 2. Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest – 10/13/2012

