Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4th of July Midtown. Is it hot enough for you?

My day started late. 10 a.m. to be exact. I slept in but still jumped on the bicycle to head to Coffee Town. By 11 a.m., the place was full. I sat and read my book. Then I looked up to see an old friend walk in. I was shocked to see him, but stood up to give him a hug. I haven’t talked to him in several months. He sat at my table and we chatted about life and food. After a while he stood up to leave. “Come and see me again. I’m here every day” I said. “I know your here every day!” he replied as he walked out of the door.

My favorite bike rides? The one where I do not have to be anywhere at a certain time. I ride fast or slow. Overall the 4 mile ride today was good except for the glass along Poplar. Todays ride was much shorter than my daily excursions to East Memphis, but still enjoyable.

I did finish reading the book “Isaac’s Storm” today. (It only took me several months to read!) A very good book. Check it out sometime. I must watch the film version of the book in the future.

I have to cut the post short today. Time to clean the house and pick up my wife from the airport. See YOU here tomorrow for more bikes, coffee and old friends. Cheers 🙂

Check out the “Stuff I Purchased” on the top left side of the page.

Memphis Events:

First Thursday Cooper Young – July 5th. Check out the restaurants and people watch in Cooper Young Thursday evening. See YOU there.

Cycle Memphis 1 Year Anniversary Ride – July 7th 7:00 p.m. Corner of Cooper / Young. I attended the first ride a year ago. Go!

Bluff City Backsliders – July 19 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Side Street Steppers – July 26 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Jeremy Shrader & the Hot Memphis Four – Aug. 2. Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest – 10/13/2012

