Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Midtown. And yes, it felt like a Monday.

Last night? Beer. Love me the beer. Nightmares. I dreamed I attended the musical “Braveheart”. Yeah, that one. Remember, this is a nightmare. And by the way, even in my dream, the show was bad. Don’t get me wrong, I love the movie. Just not the Broadway musical. (That is what you get for working in the music business for 15 years, nightmares about shows that do not exist. Or maybe due to working Lion King for 6 weeks straight. Noooooo!!!!! Not again!) To make matters worse, in my dream, I stayed for two shows, since the first show was so bad. Yeah, talk about a nightmare. I really didn’t sleep well.

When I awoke at 6:00 a.m., it was time to get rolling down the street. I stopped in at Coffee Town for some energy in a cup. Instead of reading a book like I have been doing for a week now, I read the news. Then it was time to head east along the Greenline to work.

One mile into the ride I could tell the ride would be hot. And it was. I was sweating good. By the time I reached work, I was dripping. Hottest morning ride so far this year.

Work was busy today. Glad it is over.

As I headed home, the wind had picked up. The winds were supposed to be 10 m.p.h. from the south. My estimation was more like 13 m.p.h from the west, just where I was heading. Hot and windy. Thanks. I wait at the bottom of Shelby Farms along Walnut Grove Road to cross the street as I do every day. A very dangerous intersection. The light turns green and I begin to cross the street. Here is where it gets bad quickly. Silver pickup truck pulls out to make a turn east on Walnut Grove. He HAS to see me, I’m in the middle of the street. The driver doesn’t slow down. At all. 10 feet out I yell as loud as I can “HEY!”. Bad idea. His windows are rolled up. He is either texting or talking on a cell phone. I can’t see the driver though because the windows are heavily tinted. The vehicle stops four feet in front of me. And that’s when I start cursing. Loudly. If he didn’t hear me, he could read my lips easily. The incident shook me up. One of the closest calls to a car hitting me ever. I felt like I should have been mad, but I was more shaken than anything else. My fault? I expect cars to stop as they turn on Walnut Grove Road for people crossing the street. My problem was that I couldn’t see the driver because of the tinted windows. I always try to see if the driver is looking at me. Another cyclist I talk to occasionally waves to motorists so they see him. Maybe I should give that a try. I’m just tryin’ to get home.

After that “interesting” intersection, the rest of my ride home was a walk in the cake. Not many out this evening. I guess the sun is getting the best of most people.

Me? I plan to have a few beers, water the flowers so they do not die due to the heat, and drink more beer.

See YOU back here tomorrow for more bikes, books and coffee. Cheers.

Check out the “Stuff I Purchased” on the top left side of the page.

Memphis Events:

First Thursday Cooper Young – July 5th. Check out the restaurants and people watch in Cooper Young Thursday evening. See YOU there.

Cycle Memphis 1 Year Anniversary Ride – July 7th 7:00 p.m. Corner of Cooper / Young. I attended the first ride a year ago. Go!

Bluff City Backsliders – July 19 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Side Street Steppers – July 26 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Jeremy Shrader & the Hot Memphis Four – Aug. 2. Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest – 10/13/2012

