Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Two for Tuesday Midtown.

Good day today. I began my day at Coffee Town, reading my book “The Columbus Affair” by Steve Berry. Yup. I skipped the news. When I left the coffee shop at 7:20 a.m., I had made my 5% goal for reading today.

Get on the bike, ride east. My ride to work was slightly slower, but okay. Yes, that was me singing Metallica tunes out loud along the Greenline.

Oh and by the way, a big thanks goes out to the lady in the SUV that failed to give me the right of way at Farm Road and Walnut Grove Rd. Yeah, don’t mind me and my bicycle. I am SURE your drive to work was way more important than my ride to work.

Busy work day. Glad when it was over.

I did see an interesting item featured by Lifehacker.com today. WeMo automates any electrical device in your home. The $50 device will let you plug-in your popcorn maker, fan, or light via an app and wifi connection. Yes, your electrical plug can now be connected to the internet. Via the app you can “Turn popcorn maker ON. Turn popcorn maker OFF.” For the life of me, I can’t think of ANYTHING to automate. Let’s hear it. What would YOU automate in YOUR home? Send ME your comments. I will post the best comments. Read more about WeMo here from Lifehacker.com.

A few more items today. Riding home this evening, the temperature was hot. 91 degree’s to be exact. (check out that big number 104!)

Today I tried out my Kelty Drifter for the first time after work.

My wife gave me the water system / back pack for Christmas. Here we go. I filled the water bag and placed the water in the fridge. Right before my ride, I pulled the water out of the fridge and placed it in the back pack. First stop bottom of Shelby Farms. I have to say the Drifter worked better than expected. I no longer have to stop, drink from my water bottle, then start again. The water tube has an easy open / closed valve. Plus the back pack keeps the water cooler than my water bottle. Love it.

The ride home went well until mile marker 5 along the Greenline. Yeah, I got “heavy bike” (a term that means your bicycle feels like it weighs 1000 pounds. Sort of like Heavy Metal). Premature acceleration? Yup. A guy passed me by at Podesta. “I’ll catch up! If it’s the last thing I do….” At mile marker 3 the cyclist in front of me slowed, and I made my move ahead of him. (“It’s not a race. It’s not a race.”) Good workout today.

When I arrived home, I found my order from Amazon.com had arrived. I now have a Flip Ultra Series Camcorder 60 minute version.

The cost? $50 used. Here come the bike videos. Can’t wait to try the camera out.

Alright, done for the day. Get ready for Waffle Wednesday Midtown. See YOU back here tomorrow for more coffee, camera’s, and bikes. Cheers.

Check out the “Stuff I Purchased” on the top left side of the page.

Memphis Events:

Trolley Night – Friday June 29th. South Main 6:00 p.m. Get your wine on Midtown and head to South Main.

Navy Band Mid-South – June 30th Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Sock It To Me Burlesque – June 30th 9:00 p.m. Hi-Tone $10. Go!

First Thursday Cooper Young – July 5th. Check out the restaurants and people watch in Cooper Young Thursday evening. See YOU there.

Cycle Memphis 1 Year Anniversary Ride – July 7th 7:00 p.m. Corner of Cooper / Young. I attended the first ride a year ago. Go!

Bluff City Backsliders – July 19 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Side Street Steppers – July 26 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Jeremy Shrader & the Hot Memphis Four – Aug. 2. Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest – 10/13/2012

