Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Midtown. What a day.

The day began with coffee. I usually read the news while drinking my coffee. Today I read my book “The Columbus Affair” by Steve Berry. My goal? To read 5% of the book daily. This plan can work. Wish me luck. The book is good, which makes my goal easier.

Time is up. Time to ride the Greenline to work. The morning ride worked out okay. My side basket contained a large bag full of clothes to last the work week. Since I had a party to attend at work, I carried two loaves of bread on my back bicycle rack. If you have ever juggled bread on the back of your bike, you know what my ride was like this morning. Ride, check bread, ride, check bread. This went on for 11.2 miles. Yes, I have a basket I could have put the bread in, but I was lazy this morning. It was much easier to worry about the bread for 50 minutes.

Arriving at work, I felt great and very happy. I’m not sure why I was so happy, but I was going with the good feelings.

Busy day at work, and it looks like another busy day Tuesday.

The temperature for the ride home? I checked.

100 degrees. Holy cow. That’s hot. The wind blew hot, dry heat into my face. I stopped at the bottom of Shelby Farms to drink water. I stopped in the middle of Shelby Farms to drink water. As I neared the start of the Greenline, I passed a father and son who stopped on the side of the path. When I arrived at the Greenline, I stopped to drink water. The father and son passed me by as I stopped for water. I paced the two for a while. By the time I reached Podesta, I could tell I was going to overtake the two. (“It’s not a race, it’s not a race…”) I passed the two up and didn’t see them again. The remaining ride was good. The last time I stopped for water, the heat had warmed my water a great deal. Hmmm… I do have a Camelbak. I may need to take the back pack / water system to work Tuesday.

Plans for tonight? Watermelon. Oh and beer. Do not forget the beer. I will see you tomorrow for more beers, bikes, and heat. Cheers.

Check out the “Stuff I Purchased” on the top left side of the page.

Memphis Events:

Trolley Night – Friday June 29th. South Main 6:00 p.m. Get your wine on Midtown and head to South Main.

Navy Band Mid-South – June 30th Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Sock It To Me Burlesque – June 30th 9:00 p.m. Hi-Tone $10. Go!

First Thursday Cooper Young – July 5th. Check out the restaurants and people watch in Cooper Young Thursday evening. See YOU there.

Cycle Memphis 1 Year Anniversary Ride – July 7th 7:00 p.m. Corner of Cooper / Young. I attended the first ride a year ago. Go!

Bluff City Backsliders – July 19 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Side Street Steppers – July 26 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Jeremy Shrader & the Hot Memphis Four – Aug. 2. Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest – 10/13/2012

