Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Finally Friday Midtown.

Friday couldn’t get here soon enough. I am beat.

I took my bicycle for a ride to work this morning. At the half way point along the Greenline, my Ipod shuffled to a great song “Blitzkrieg” (a song covered by Metallica). Time to increase my pace. Or what I like to call premature acceleration. The remainder of the ride went well. As I neared the end of my ride, I noticed a cyclist parked on the side of the road. His problem? Flat tire. His tires are smaller than mine. I do not have a spare that fits his tire. He said he had a flat tire the week before. Something is up with the tire. “Take your bike to a bike shop. Have Cort check it out for you.” And keep a spare with you. He said he knew better. I wished him luck and finished my ride.

Riding home this evening, it was HOT outside. Drink plenty of water. I stopped several times to drink water. A cyclist kept pace with me for a good part of the Greenline. We kept trading leader places when we stopped for a drink of water. At Graham, I decided to put some space between us and cranked up the speed. See ya. Good ride home.

Arriving home I grabbed a cold beer (Paulaner) and hit the shower. And it is time for more beer now.

Oh yeah, purchased my plane ticket for Texas. I will spend 3 days in the River City for a concert with old friends. Hello real tex-mex food. I can’t wait. 7 weeks until I leave. Round trip cost? $275. Not bad, especially for Memphis.

I’m done. See you here tomorrow for more beer, bikes and events. Cheers.

Check out the “Stuff I Purchased” on the top left side of the page.

Memphis Events:

Navy Band Mid-South – June 30th Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Sock It To Me Burlesque – June 30th 9:00 p.m. Hi-Tone $10. Go!

Cycle Memphis 1 Year Anniversary Ride – July 7th 7:00 p.m. Corner of Cooper / Young. I attended the first ride a year ago. Go!

Bluff City Backsliders – July 19 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Side Street Steppers – July 26 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Jeremy Shrader & the Hot Memphis Four – Aug. 2. Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

