Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Waffle Wednesday Midtown.

Except I forgot the waffle. Maybe tomorrow. Yup. Drank my coffee and read the news. Then it was time to ride.

The bike ride to work was okay. I didn’t start well, but picked up the pace later on. Okay ride over all. I can’t complain.

Work was much better today. I blew up a vehicle air bag. What a way to end a day.

Ride home? HOT. I stopped for water several times. TAKE WATER WITH YOU if you are cycling in the evening. You will need the water. Not many people out at Shelby Farms, but there were many people along the Greenline. As I passed others I rang my bicycle bell. My pace was slower only because it was hot outside and I didn’t want to over do it. And I listened to my Kiss Alive album while I made my way home. Good stuff.

Oh yeah, my wife purchased the book “Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children” by Ransom Riggs.

She really likes the book. Where did she get the book? Burke’s Book Store in Cooper Young. Get readin’ people.

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest posted a question using Facebook. “Random post: Where are the best craft beer specials in Memphis? Just curious.” The answer(s):

Joseph Barnes- “Cash Saver (formerly Piggly Wiggly) on Madison has a surprising beer selection.  And everything is at cost plus 10%.  They have O’fallon, Blackstone, some Yazoo beers, etc.  The one at Summer & White Station (same shopping center at Midsouth Malts) I think has Hop Project.”

David Twombly “Superlo (next to Target in the Colonial/Southern/Spottswood area) had a better-than-I-expected selection and lower-than-I-expected prices when I stopped by last night.”

These are two answers I did not expect. Hmmm… I may have to do some beer investigating.

I am done for the day! Come back tomorrow for more beers, books and bikes. Cheers!

Check out the “Stuff I Purchased” on the top left side of the page.

Memphis Events:

Troen – June 21st 7:30 p.m. Levitt Shell – Irish Music!

Navy Band Mid-South – June 30th Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Sock It To Me Burlesque – June 30th 9:00 p.m. Hi-Tone $10. Go!

Cycle Memphis 1 Year Anniversary Ride – July 7th 7:00 p.m. Corner of Cooper / Young. I attended the first ride a year ago. Go!

Bluff City Backsliders – July 19 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Side Street Steppers – July 26 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Jeremy Shrader & the Hot Memphis Four – Aug. 2. Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beer Festival – 10/13/2012

