Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Midtown. I am BEAT.

The day began with coffee, nothing new.

Drank my coffee, read the news, and headed east along the Greenline. The morning ride was fine. No complaints. Even my pace was fine… until… I reached the bottom of Shelby Farms. You know it is Monday, with only a couple of miles to go, that you reach a locked gate.

No damn chains will hold me to the ground.

Yes. The gate at the bottom of Shelby Farms was locked this morning. Fortunately, I have the Shelby Farms phone number on my speed dial. “Yes. I am at gate 18 and it is locked.” Her reply, “Are you sure it is not dummy locked (the lock is in place, but not locked)?” “Yeah, it’s locked pretty good.” I turned around to get around the gate. As I was leaving a park employee pulled up. He asked if I had just called about a locked gate. Yup. “I am so sorry. I got busy and forgot about the gate” he said. No worries. He unlocked the gate for me and I finished my ride. It’s Monday.

I was able to listen to Kiss Alive II as I rode this morning. And yes, that was me singing Kiss songs along the Greenline out loud. “They call me Doctor Love.” Good stuff.

Work was crazy again today. Busy, busy. At least I do not have to arrive early Tuesday. I may not bike to work tomorrow. Just a thought.

The ride home was hot. Most people were NOT out at Shelby Farms this evening. I guess they were avoiding the heat. As I closed in on the Greenline a few miles away, more people were out jogging, walking and biking. Good ride home. I had to hold my pace back since it was very hot this evening. Take water with you! It’s hot out there.

Evening plans? Make another run at killing weeds on city property. Stealth style. Then drink beer. Come back tomorrow for more bikes, beers and locked gates. Cheers!

Check out the “Stuff I Purchased” on the top left side of the page.

Memphis Events:

Troen – June 21st 7:30 p.m. Levitt Shell – Irish Music!

Navy Band Mid-South – June 30th Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Sock It To Me Burlesque – June 30th 9:00 p.m. Hi-Tone $10. Go!

Cycle Memphis 1 Year Anniversary Ride – July 7th 7:00 p.m. Corner of Cooper / Young. I attended the first ride a year ago. Go!

Bluff City Backsliders – July 19 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Side Street Steppers – July 26 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Jeremy Shrader & the Hot Memphis Four – Aug. 2. Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beer Festival – 10/13/2012

