Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy Fathers Day Midtown!

How did we start the day? A bike ride to Republic Coffee for coffee! We did see a few other cyclists along the way. I rang my bicycle bell as we passed by them.

After we finished the coffee we headed home to wait for the Broad Ave food truck gathering.

The first stop along Broad Ave was Archicast. Great stuff here. This is what we purchased:

Alien artifact? No. An electrical product company asked the owner to make several hundred of these jelly-metal-pearl cones. The owner said he had a devil of a time getting the cones correct. So we purchased one. $10.

Next up were the food trucks. If you want taco’s or tamales, get ready to stand in a long line.

I waited and waited and waited to get those tamales. The line was 20 people deep. As the line grew shorter, 10 people deep, the guy from the taco truck stepped outside and wrote this on the menu:

“OUT OF TAMALES”! What? I waited 40 minutes NOT to get tamales. Alright. I will get chicken and beef tacos instead. The chicken taco’s tasted better.

As I waited in line for my taco’s, a person came up to me and asked if my name was “Inglorio”. “Uh… no” I said.  As the couple walked away, his wife said to the man, “He looks just like him.” I must have a twin residing in Memphis.

I did see this person on an electric bicycle on Broad Ave.

I chatted with her for a few minutes about the bicycle. The couple is from Chicago and were riding rented electric bicycles in Memphis when they found the food truck event along Broad Ave. Her husband is a cyclist and at first wasn’t keen about an “electric” bicycle. Once he tried the electric bicycle out, he loved it.

When I finally received my taco’s, we walked back to the car. Then I noticed this bicycle rack along the way:

Very appropriate for Memphis.

Plans for the later part of the day? A trip to Home Depot for some pine needles and various minerals. If the city continues to let a certain section of public land grow weeds 6 feet high, I will “help” the city keep the weeds much shorter.

Welcome to the jungle…

I wouldn’t mind the 6 foot tall weeds other than it is 1) an eyesore, 2) hazardous to my bike ride. Time to do some “weed control” of my own.

Like beer? I stopped in at Raffe’s (3358 Poplar Ave) yesterday for some beer. Do you like beer specials? Check this out. Konig Ludwig wheat beer on sale for $3.99 for a six. It gets better. Saranac Pomegranate Wheat is on sale for $3.50 for a six. Try getting that special in a chain store.

You had me at “special” Raffe’s. The Ludwig Wheat was good. The Pomegranate was okay. I cannot complain about the price at all. Get some Midtown.

Alright. I’m done. Get out and have some fun Midtown. See you back here tomorrow for more bikes, beers and tamales. Cheers.

Check out the “Stuff I Purchased” on the top left side of the page.

Memphis Events:

Troen – June 21st 7:30 p.m. Levitt Shell – Irish Music!

Navy Band Mid-South – June 30th Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Sock It To Me Burlesque – June 30th 9:00 p.m. Hi-Tone $10. Go!

Cycle Memphis 1 Year Anniversary Ride – July 7th 7:00 p.m. Corner of Cooper / Young. I attended the first ride a year ago. Go!

Bluff City Backsliders – July 19 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Side Street Steppers – July 26 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Jeremy Shrader & the Hot Memphis Four – Aug. 2. Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beer Festival – 10/13/2012

