Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello Saturday! Are you loving it? Get ready for another extra helping, super size it, make that a double, blog post.

My day started at Coffee Town at 10:30 a.m. Apparently everyone in Midtown decided to go to the same place, at the same time. I ordered some bacon, eggs and toast plus some coffee. I felt so at ease, I wanted to spend the entire day there.

After an hour, it was time to leave. I have things to do. First up, resurrecting my favorite t-shirt from the 80’s. Remember this picture?

I purchased a few items and this is the result:

So if you see this shirt along the Greenline, it is me. Bringing back the 80’s, one t-shirt at a time.

I found this article in the Commercial Appeal by accident today. Memphis food trucks will gather on Broad Ave this Sunday to celebrate Fathers Day. Cool. Bring cash and an appetite. I may have to attend. Time? Noon to late afternoon. Be there. Read more here from the Commercial Appeal.

Just when you thought Memphis didn’t have anything more to offer for free, Shelby Farms will hold FREE concerts this summer. The first event begins June 30th with the Navy Band Mid-South. Concerts begin at 6:30 p.m. and are free ($5 for parking suggested). There will also be childrens activities included with the concerts. My suggestion? Ride your bicycle to Shelby Farms to see the show, then ride back home. To easy. Food trucks will also be there to fill your stomachs. Read more here from the Commercial Appeal and Shelby Farms here.

Shows coming up? How about some burlesque Midtown? I sat and chatted with a couple of members from the Sock It To Me burlesque group. Here is part two of the interview with the lovely ladies. First up is Kissame Suga.

LL: Do your friends know you are a burlesque performer & do they support you?

KS: My friends love that I am a burlesque dancer! They support me all the time and come out to shows and even help promote. They think it’s so cool!

LL: Is burlesque dancing harder than it looks?

KS: It is. With a burlesque performance, you are not just freestyling in your bedroom! You are putting on a show for the crowd. You have to win them over with your moves and make them want more!

LL: What would you say to those who have never been to a burlesque performance?

KS: We are not STRIPPERS! (No offense to the strippers, get that money honey) It is a fun, but tasteful striptease.

LL: What type of music do you enjoy performing to?

KS: I like to perform to songs with good bass and songs that the crowd can groove too. The songs that make you dance in your seat and you say “that’s my jam”!

LL: Big question; is it fun being a burlesque performer?

KS: Yes! I loved it from the day Chloe introduced me to it. I love the feeling that I get on stage and I love all of the work and time I put into it. Its like having an awesome twin! Not to mention how many great burly women I’ve met.

LL: How did you get into burlesque?

KS: Chloe! We’ve been besties for almost 5 yrs now, (tear) at one point we worked together. She told me about an audition she had to sing in a burlesque troupe. From there, I was hooked! She showed me videos, pictures, performances from greats such as Bettie Page, and I said to myself I want to do this.

LL: Have you performed on stage in theater prior to burlesque? If no, have you wanted to?

KS: Well in high school, I was apart of the theater, but mostly behind the scenes. One day I would like to perform on a theater stage.

LL: Do you watch Dancing With the Stars/ Americas Got Talent? If so, what do you think about the shows?

KS: Ironically, I don’t watch those shows. I have caught Glee before, but hopefully I can catch one episode soon.

LL: Time wise, how long are your routines?

KS: I would say between 3-5 minutes. In the “real world”, that’s not a lot of time at all. But when you are onstage seems like forever! I have to admit those are the best 3-5 minutes of my life. I also want to the crowd to feel its the best 3-5 minutes of their day!

I also had an opportunity to chat with Chloe du Bois.

LL: Burlesque sounds fun. Can anyone perform with your group? Do you need experienced performers?

CdB: Burlesque IS fun! We don’t plan to add anyone to the troupe anytime soon. We have all performed together before, but Sock It To Me Burlesque is pretty brand new as a troupe. So we are looking forward to enjoying our new sisterhood over this next year and growing together as a troupe….we have so much planned already for the year, look out Memphis!! We definitely plan to have guest performers at our shows though. It’s always fun to throw something new into the mix! We could expand the troupe in the future though, so yes, practice, practice, practice!! And get out there and perform y’all! It’s really the best practice, and the best way to be seen.

LL: What can I expect when attending this event?

CdB: We will be holding our first ‘Best Seat in the House’ raffle….two lucky audience members will have an amazing seat for the show!! If you haven’t seen a local burlesque show, come see what you are missing. We’d love to have you!

Wow. Sounds like a great show. Midtown and Memphis, go! Get your tickets online or at the door, but don’t wait. These show’s SELL OUT! Sock It To Me Burlesque – June 30th 9:00 p.m. Hi-Tone $10.

Is that enough for you Midtown? The plans for the rest of the day? Read, eat and have me a few beers. Get out and love your day. See YOU here tomorrow for more beer, bikes, and burlesque. Cheers.

Check out the “Stuff I Purchased” on the top left side of the page.

Memphis Events:

Fathers Day Broad Ave w/ Food Trucks – June 17 noon- late afternoon. Bring cash for some great food. (located on Broad Ave) Go!

Troen – June 21st 7:30 p.m. Levitt Shell – Irish Music!

Navy Band Mid-South – June 30th Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Sock It To Me Burlesque – June 30th 9:00 p.m. Hi-Tone $10. Go!

Cycle Memphis 1 Year Anniversary Ride – July 7th 7:00 p.m. Corner of Cooper / Young. I attended the first ride a year ago. Go!

Bluff City Backsliders – July 19 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Side Street Steppers – July 26 Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Jeremy Shrader & the Hot Memphis Four – Aug. 2. Shelby Farms Concert Series 6:30 p.m. FREE ($5 parking)

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beer Festival – 10/13/2012

