Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Finally Friday Midtown. And just in time.

Two words; I am exhausted.

The morning started with what else; coffee. Funny, the waitress at Coffee Town asked me, “Did you see the movie “Prometheus” last weekend?” Yup. She was at the theater as well, attending the movie after I did. We talked about the movie for a while, what we liked and didn’t like. Good talk.

Finishing my coffee, it was time to ride to work along the Greenline. As I started my ride, I played the Kiss Alive album on my Ipod. Two young females were at the Tillman side of the Greenline when I started. They had pro bikes. One had skills, one didn’t. They started fast, but slowed at each intersection. This went on until Podesta where I passed them by. At Shelby Farms they caught up to me, almost. As soon as we rode into the Northwest corner of Shelby Farms, I pushed my bike up the hills. They were not catching me here. I do these hills every morning. See ya! And I never saw them again.

Oh yeah, the Kiss Alive album was fun. Good thing I ordered it. You can see it on “Stuff I purchased” on the top left of this page. “Black Diamond”, “Strutter”, and “Cold Gin” takes me back to 1975. Rock on Kiss.

Work was crazy again today. I am praying that next week will be drama free. Please!

The ride home was hot! I took water to drink. Funny, the hills in the Northwest corner of Shelby Farms did not cause me slow down at all. I killed the hills this evening. Many people were out and about along the Greenline, even kids on bicycles.

Just as I arrived home, without changing, we headed to the Overton Square block party.

Overton Square Block Party

Here are a few pictures from the event.

Apparently this event was “very” bicycle friendly, which was good. Live music, food, and beer; the event was well attended. I wish they would do more events like this in the future.

Next stop? Tsunami at Cooper Young. I have never been to this restaurant before. What? Yes, I know. There is a first time for everything. My opinion? Go here! Great food, smiling staff. Ghost River on draft? Oh yeah baby. After my long day and 22.4 mile bike ride, I needed that Ghost River beer. What did I order to eat?

The panko crusted salmon over black beans, chorizo & shrimp with spicy red pepper sauce & jasmine rice. Oh yeah. This is good! Loved it. Get this dish yourself Midtown. I ALMOST licked the plate clean. Really, you will enjoy this dish. Thanks Tsunami!

Midtown, I am DONE. So glad the work week is finished. Time for some beer and then sleep! Get ready for the weekend, because here it comes! Cheers!

Check out the “Stuff I Purchased” on the top left side of the page.

Memphis Events:

Troen – June 21st 7:30 p.m. Levitt Shell – Irish Music!

Sock It To Me Burlesque – June 30th 9:00 p.m. Hi-Tone $10. Go!

Cycle Memphis 1 Year Anniversary Ride – July 7th 7:00 p.m. Corner of Cooper / Young. I attended the first ride a year ago. Go!

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beer Festival – 10/13/2012

