Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Ah… a day off. I’m loving it!

The day started with a trip to Huey’s for lunch. We arrived at 11:30 a.m. I am guessing 11:30 is the time the place opens because others were waiting to get inside as well.

After taking a seat, our waitress Eva took our order. Cheese fries, and the Madison Ave burger. Every time we go to Hueys we get the Madison Ave. burger.

Hello Huey Burger

The fries and burger were good. Oh yeah, we sat at the booth with this on the wall:

Yes, I have posted this picture before. And I still like the picture.

One of the best parts of our meal? Our waitress. Attention waiters and waitresses in Memphis; if you have a bad attitude or do not care about my meal, I will not tip you! I will no longer reward bad service. Our waitress Eva was all smiles, and was cheerful. Memphis needs more people like Eva. Put a smile on your face, you will get better tips that way. Be nice and helpful to your customers. I did not have to ask twice for something and I didn’t have to wait for anything. Eva took good care of our table. And yes I tipped Eva well. Thanks Hueys and thanks Eva!  🙂

Next stop? Republic Coffee. Hello Trevor (another great person. Memphis needs more people like Trevor). Iced coffee please. Sitting outside I read the paper. Memphis and politics; hmmm…. Many times I have to just shake my head in wonder. I did read a pictorial commentary today in the Commercial Appeal though. I think it really sums up what I believe in; “It was eye-opening to hear their comments on what a great city we live in.” (Michael McMullan, a picture editor for The Commercial Appeal, commenting on visitors to Memphis and their take on Memphis). Memphis has great things to offer. It is all right outside your door. Go check it out.

After finishing my coffee we headed to Target for a bar speaker for the t.v. Usually I am good at checking reviews for electronics before I buy them. This time I didn’t check anything before walking into the store. The good news? An employee in the electronics department had just purchased a sound bar for himself and gave me hints on what to buy. $100 later I had myself a Phillips sound bar with a sub woofer. I wanted the “wireless” woofer, but after the sticker shock of $300, I picked the “wired” woofer instead. Arriving home I spent 30 minutes fumbling around with wires. The speakers worked well, especially the sub-woofer. Scary movies sound great with the deep bass.

What am I doing now? Getting the grill ready. Steak, burgers, chicken and sausage are sauced up, ready to cook.

Love me the grill. Mmmm… tasty lunch all week-long.

And I received a new book in the mail, “The Referral Engine” by John Jantsch.

I haven’t gotten into the book yet, although I am planning to start reading the book just as soon as I get the grill going.

Get ready for the work week people, because here it comes! I will see YOU back here tomorrow for more books, BBQ and taco’s. Cheers!

Be sure to check out “Stuff I have purchased” above on the top left.

Memphis Events:

First Thursday Cooper Young – June 7th. Go!

The NEW Square – June 15th – 3:00 -7:30 p.m. Overton Square – Bands, food and fun! Go!

Sock It To Me Burlesque – June 30th 9:00 p.m. Hi-Tone $10. Go!

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beer Festival – 10/13/2012

