Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thirsty Thursday Midtown. How’s that rain coming down?

My plan to “drive” to work this morning didn’t happen. Why? The weather man called for rain. When I walked outside, the weather looked just fine. See ya! I jumped on the bicycle and headed for Republic Coffee. Arriving at the coffee shop, I chatted with the staff for a short time, then took off for the Greenline. The bike ride was good this morning, except that the broken screen Ipod has another defect. My headphones will not work; at all. Yeah… must have music to ride to. It’s my theme music.

Another crazy day at work. The rain really started to pour, but I called the National Weather Service. The rain was supposed to clear at 4:45 p.m. And guess what? It did. Well enough so I could ride home. Didn’t see many people out at Shelby Farms this afternoon. But I did see ONE person along the Greenline.

Every day I ride to and from work along the Greenline, I see the same guy. I mentioned him in previous posts. He is the “West / East Guy” (He comes from Germantown to Midtown). I am the “East / West Guy” (I come from Midtown to near Germantown). We go the opposite way each day. And every day we wave to each other. I can tell he rides to and from work. Today I see him stopped near the beginning of the Greenline. He waves for me to stop. We start talking. His name is Louie. We talk about commuting by bicycle, and my blog. He has read my blog. He stopped me to announce he was moving north for a while. Who will ride “West / East” now daily? Here’s to ya Louie. (Send me a comment Louie so I can ask you a few questions). Cheers and good luck!

The rain started to pick up near White Station during my ride. Hello rain poncho. It pays to be prepared. I looked like the “una-bomber”, except my poncho was blue. Nearing High Point Terrace, I found this:

I hate fallen tree’s. At least I was able to get around the tree easily. I hope the fallen tree is cleaned up tomorrow.

Dinner tonight. Los Delicious. Either go early, or be prepared to wait. They assured me they were printing their own money in the back of the restaurant. I believed them. I had two taco’s and I was good to go.

Tonight’s featured drink? Beer!

Ahhh…..

Thanks Hoegaarden!

Alright, you come back tomorrow for more bikes, beers, and taco’s. Cheers!

Memphis Events:

First Thursday Cooper Young – June 7th. Go!

The NEW Square – June 15th – 3:00 -7:30 p.m. Overton Square – Bands, food and fun! Go!

Sock It To Me Burlesque – June 30th 9:00 p.m. Hi-Tone $10. Go!

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beer Festival – 10/13/2012

