Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Two for Tuesday Midtown. I… am… beat.

Started my day at Coffee Town at 7:00 a.m. Yes, it hurts to type those numbers. My work schedule has changed for the next 11 weeks. 54 more days to go… Wish me luck.

After my coffee, I jumped on my bicycle and headed for the Greenline. More people were out and about at 7:30 a.m. than I expected. Good ride too. I did get one cyclist who paced me for a couple of miles. I don’t mind that. It’s just that he was real close to me the entire time. Kinda creepy. He finally stopped along the Greenline and I was good to go.

The worst part of my day? My headphones were broken. No music for my ride. And it was HOT today outside. The ride home? Even hotter. Get ready for a HOT summer Memphis.

Work was tough as well today. I had to give a three-hour lecture. I knew I was giving it, and planned for it, but it takes it out of you when you talk for three hours.

Dinner? Sweet Grass Next Door with friends. I usually order the fried egg sandwich.

A plate of love.

Can’t go wrong with it. And to top it off? Deep dish sour cream apple pie.

The perfect end of the evening with ice cream and apple pie.

Get it!

Alright. Moving on to even better things. I promised more information about a certain burlesque group in town. Sock It To Me Burlesque is having another show. June 30th. Hi-Tone Cafe. $10. Beat The Heat. Be there. The last show was VERY well attended. Get your tickets now. Here is a preview of the show with two members of the group.

First up is Kissame Suga, then we have questions and answers with Chloe du Bois.

Living Loud: What is your stage name and where did it come from?

Kissame Suga: Kissame Suga! Originally, I had a different name. However, I wanted a name that made people smile and was bold. After a few talks with the girls and throwing ideas out, Kissame Suga was born!

LL: Do you practice your routine and how often?

KS: Yes. I normally practice on weekends with the music really loud to get the effect. Practice makes for a good show.

LL: Good idea. For all you performers out there, practice your stage show! By the way, where do performers get the stage clothes?

KS: We are very creative women! Haha. My fellow SITM lady, Chloe du Bois, introduced me to “thrifting”. We will go shop at our fav thrift stores and make it our own. Some items are ordered offline, but for the most part we make and design our clothes.

LL: Do you create the routine you perform or does someone else do it for you?

KS: Yes sir! I create my own routines down to the clothes and music. I also get creative advice from the other ladies also. But at the end of the day it’s all Kissame Suga!

LL: I have always wondered about that. I now have the answer. What interests you about burlesque?

KS: Burlesque to me is a creative way for me to tell the story of a woman’s body. You can not only be sexy, but funny, powerful, and artistic. Burlesque is freedom to express for all ages, sizes, and ethnicities.

LL: I really have to agree. A well-practiced routine can be very artistic. And don’t forget the fun! I think that really sums up the burlesque shows I have been to. Funny, powerful and artistic.

I also had a oportunity to chat with Chloe du Bois.

LL: How many performers are in your group? And what are the stage names?

CD: We have six performers, I’m the singer/host/bad joke maker….but mostly I just sing! I’m Chloe du Bois…I am a known fan of jazz and wine and men….and more wine. We have a fire dancer in troupe, Aenya Little Fyre, who sets the show on fire with fire staffs, fire nunchuks, fire fingers, fire fans…all kinds of fiery goodness! For our four burlesque dancers, we have a fiery redhead, BlackJack Kat, who brings an energetic rockabilly feel to the stage, and is known for her acrobatic abilities! Lady Doo Moi….well, she just wants everyone to know that ‘She’s French, Bitch!’. Madonna Putana has this classic goddess beauty that seems to stop time, I find her hypnotic to watch. And super new to burlesque, Kissame Suga! She bumps and grinds and pops it like nobody else, you can’t help but dance along! It’s such an awesome group of unique and creative performers, I feel lucky to share the stage with them all.

LL: What can we expect from the upcoming show?

CD: Song, dance, fire & partial nudity, yay!!! Special guest performers! Local favorite burly girl, Frankie LaFemme. We will also have a guest fire spinner, Mogli Nova, yes that’s TWICE the fire for this show!!

Wow. Do you need any more reason to attend this show? Fire, dancing women, singing, and special guests. Get your tickets here. Hi Tone. $10. June 30th 9:00 p.m. Also, don’t wait until the last-minute. The last show was very well sold. Be on the look out for more of this interview with Kissame Suga and Chloe du Bois in the next few weeks.

Alright. I’m done. Beat. Tired. Come back tomorrow for more burlesque, food and coffee. Cheers!

Oh, and check out the “Stuff I Purchased” post at the top of this page.

Memphis Events:

First Thursday Cooper Young – June 7th. Go!

The NEW Square – June 15th – 3:00 -7:30 p.m. Overton Square – Bands, food and fun! Go!

Sock It To Me Burlesque – June 30th 9:00 p.m. Hi-Tone $10. Go!

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beer Festival – 10/13/2012

