Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Three day weekend Midtown. My prediction? Food, fun and more food. Oh and grilling on the patio. And bikes. And coffee. Don’t forget the coffee.

Last night? We drove downtown to meet friends for dinner. At the corner of South Main and G.E. Patterson I see this:

Holy cow! That is a picture of more than 1000 zombies in downtown Memphis. The zombies made a run for world domination again this year. Thanks to Shaun and Ed, the zombies were quickly defeated and Memphis is once again safe… until next year.

Shaun: “As Mr. Sloan always says, there is no “I” in team, but there is an “I” in pie. And there’s an “I” in meat pie. Anagram of meat is team…”

(I used that line in a work meeting once. Everyone followed me, until the part about “meat pie”. “What is he talking about???” they whispered).

Here are more pictures for you zombie fans:

Zombie tennis anyone?

The original plan was to have dinner at Rizzo’s Diner. Instead we headed over to Harbor Town for dinner with friends. I will admit it. I have never been to Harbor Town for dinner. Ever. “How long have you lived in Memphis?” I know, I know. Hello Tug’s.

I like beer. I really liked the Red Brick Blonde. The beer has a citrus taste to it. Try the blonde out. I think you will like it. Great beer for a hot day.

What did we eat at Tug’s? I ordered the blackened catfish and my wife ordered steak and mashed potato’s. Although I liked my plate, the steak was excellent. Get the steak! Share a plate if you like. We will be back to Tug’s.

Moving on, we headed over to Pizza and Movie Company. And… they are now serving Angry Orchard Cider. The cider appears to be spreading in Memphis. Be on the lookout for Angry Orchard Cider.

Sitting out on the patio we chatted. After a bowl of dessert, it was time to leave Harbor Town. See ya next time.

Saturday? I headed to Republic Coffee riding my bicycle. The day was great for a short two-mile ride. I parked my bicycle and grabbed a coffee and waffle.

Is it time for a waffle intervention? Judge for yourself.

I read the news and read part of a book while sitting at a table. Watching the world go by at RC on a Saturday is relaxing. After an hour, I headed back home. While riding near the dog park, a woman was riding in the opposite direction on her bicycle. She waved and asked how I was doing. I just rang my bell. She laughed and smiled and went on her way. See how easy it is. One small bicycle bell can make someone’s day. “Why are those people riding bicycles so happy?”. Get on a bike and you will find out.

See YOU back here tomorrow for more bikes, coffee, beers and books. Cheers!

Memphis Events:

Jimbo Mathus – May 26th 7:30 p.m. Levitt Shell. Go!

D’Mar and Gill – May 27th 6:00 p.m. Levitt Shell. Go!

The NEW Square – June 15th – 3:00 -7:30 p.m. Overton Square – Bands, food and fun! Go!

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beer Festival – 10/13/2012

