Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Waffle Wednesday Midtown. Get some.

Waffle addiction? Maybe. Waffle time!

Yes, I am busy. Every day. I am lucky to keep up with the news daily now. After I finished my waffle and coffee I headed off down the Greenline. First up, I swept the broken beer bottle off the Greenline this morning. Stupid broken bottle. At the 5.5 mile mark, a cyclist rode by me. Not “fast”, but fast enough to make me attempt to keep pace. I can do it (no you can’t). My bike is just as fast (no it’s not). You are still young (no I’m not). After keeping pace for more than one mile I gave up. Note to self; stop trying to race others along the Greenline. On the upside, I did get to work earlier this morning since my pace was faster.

My ride home today? Really good. For some reason I believed the morning ride had worn my legs out, but it didn’t. I was ringing my bicycle bell over and over this afternoon. Loved it.

What did I learn today? I can make soap. It’s not difficult. This should be interesting. More research is needed, but I can do it. I usually buy “craft” soap, instead of the bulk soap. The craft soap feels so much better on my skin.

Next week I move my work schedule ahead by 1 hour. Which means I will have to “start” riding at 7:30 a.m. This will be a fun dozen weeks coming up.

Also, tomorrow marks my 1 YEAR COMMUTING TO WORK BY BICYCLE IN MEMPHIS. (I first commuted by bicycle in 1999-2000 in Texas, but remember little of it). What have I learned? Know how to fix a flat tire. You will get them. I had three flats in a year. Keep some tools with you. An extra tube or tire patch will help. Keep a poncho in case of rain. If it is hot outside, take water with you. Plan ahead when it comes to lunch and work clothes. “Baby wipes” work great when you clean up after your ride. You don’t need to spend a fortune to commute to work on your bicycle. You too can bike to work cheaply. Oh, and have fun during your ride every day! I do. That money you save on gas? Think of it as a raise.

Okay, I am done. See you back here tomorrow for more bikes, waffles, and coffee. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

Tinsley Ellis – May 24th 7:30 p.m. Levitt Shell. Go!

Vivaz – May 25th 7:30 p.m. Levitt Shell. Go!

Memphis Zombie Massacre – May 25th 6:30 p.m. Downtown. Go!

Trolley Night – 6:00 p.m. South Main downtown. Go!

Zoo Brew – May 25 7:00 p.m. Go! (Hint, head to the high gravity beers when the gate opens. This line gets long!) Love the Zoo Brew.

Jimbo Mathus – May 26th 7:30 p.m. Levitt Shell. Go!

D’Mar and Gill – May 27th 6:00 p.m. Levitt Shell. Go!

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beer Festival – 10/13/2012

