Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Midtown.

And just when you thought the rain would stop me… I took the bike to work today. The weather man predicted rain today. By the morning, I checked with the weather man again. His forecast had changed. No rain. Since I had taken a basket off my bike Friday for the “Bike To Work” day, I had to stuff all my gear into a side basket. It took a while, but I had everything tied down after a few minutes. While riding to work this morning along the Greenline, I didn’t see many others out and about. I guess the rain scared people off. Good ride this morning, except my pace was slower than usual.

Work was mucho busy today. Answer the phone, check records, take names, ect. More of that tomorrow.

By the time I was riding home, the wind had picked up. My arch-enemy, the wind. Good ride home until the last 2.5 miles. My legs ran out of gas at the 4 mile check point along the Greenline. Doh!

When I arrived home, I noticed Doug Campbell had tweeted about a news article. Memphis Business Journal reports that Memphis has been named “Most Improved City” by Bicycling Magazine. Cool. Portland, we are coming for you! Just hang out around the Greenline and you will see so many people out on bicycles. Families, the young, the old, black, white, brown, tall, short, fast and slow; they are all there riding bicycles. And you should too. Read the article here. Thanks for heads up Doug!

For the next few months, my time for reading the news greatly diminishes. Come second week of August and my news reading time goes back up again. It’s just the way work is scheduled. The book I am reading now?

The book is good. If you have ever dreamed of owning your own business, this is the book. You can see more about the book from Amazon here.

And don’t forget, this Friday is Trolley Night downtown. The wine is uncorked at 6:00 p.m. Go! And to make the night more memorable, it is also Zombie Night. Talk about people watching Friday evening.

Currently, I am exhausted from my workday and bike ride. See YOU back here tomorrow for more bikes, startups, and coffee. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

Tinsley Ellis – May 24th 7:30 p.m. Levitt Shell. Go!

Vivaz – May 25th 7:30 p.m. Levitt Shell. Go!

Memphis Zombie Massacre – May 25th 6:30 p.m. Downtown. Go!

Trolley Night – 6:00 p.m. South Main downtown. Go!

Zoo Brew – May 25 7:00 p.m. Go! (Hint, head to the high gravity beers when the gate opens. This line gets long!) Love the Zoo Brew.

Jimbo Mathus – May 26th 7:30 p.m. Levitt Shell. Go!

D’Mar and Gill – May 27th 6:00 p.m. Levitt Shell. Go!

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beer Festival – 10/13/2012

