Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Finally Friday Midtown. Get ready for another “double wide, extra helping, size 12 and super size it” post.

It is 7:30 a.m. I am sitting on the patio of Otherlands coffee shop.

Two guys walk by. Guy 1 “Why are there so many bikes parked outside?” Guy 2 “It is national “Ride Your Bike To Work” day.” Guy 1 “Oh.” Team leader Jason Potter arrives. I introduce myself. Other cyclists arrive. We chat for a bit. 7:50 a.m., we mount the bicycles and we are off to downtown. The ride was nice. I chatted with a cyclist as we made our way downtown. I rarely bike downtown since I am usually heading to the east side of Memphis daily.

Our group arrives at the corner of Front and G.E. Patterson. Cort greets me as I pull up. I walk over to the table of SWAG (free stuff!) and pick up my FREE messenger bag filled with goodies.

THANK YOU! Tire patches, lights, and a bell. I can use ALL of that.

I stood next to the table and chatted with a few other cyclists for a bit. By 8:40 a.m. it was time to wrap things up.

Check out that bike basket FILLED with swag. Now I really had to “bike to work”. Except that my work place is on the EAST side of town. So after riding 5.2 miles to get to downtown, I now have to ride BACK 5.2 miles to get home to pick up a few items. Arriving at home I loaded my bicycle into my truck and drove 2 miles to Republic Coffee. No time for coffee, I unloaded the bike and set off along the Greenline. Good ride to work, even though I had already biked 10.4 miles. Pedal, pedal, pedal. I get to work, adding another 11.4 miles to my miles for the day.

By the end of the day I was beat, and I still have to bike home. Pedal, pedal, pedal. Funny, I felt good during the ride home. Adding another 11.4 miles to my miles today, which brought the total miles to 33.2 miles. Done! Or am I?

Arriving home, I changed clothes and we headed to the corner of Cooper and Young. Alchemy, here we come. The menu appears to have changed slightly. You cannot go wrong with grilled cheese sandwiches and tomato soup. Order this!

Rock shrimp and chorizo mac and cheese; yes. Wings? Yes.

What is new? The wings coated with a spicy glazed peanut butter sauce. My problem? The peanut butter sauce was way thick; like a big spoon of peanut butter. Everything worked, except the peanut butter thickness. My wife thought the wings needed something sweet to balance the peanut butter thickness.

Wait. Want MORE FREE SWAG? I posted something about a new cider called “Angry Orchard” some days ago. A rep from the company sent me a message. He said I was the first person in the south to talk about Angry Orchard cider. The rep asked for my mailing address. What did I get?

A free hat. Cool. The rep wanted to ship me some “samples” but the state of Tennessee kinda frowns upon that behavior. Stoopid laws. Thanks Angry Orchard!

Yup. I am EXHAUSTED. I am ready for a beer.

I hope you had a great day, I know I did. See you here tomorrow for more beer, bikes and Carmina Burana. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

Bikesploitation II – May 19th 6:30 p.m. – 10:15 p.m. Read more about it here at Facebook. (Thanks Sarah!)

Carmina Burana – Memphis Symphony May 19 and 20th. Go!

Memphis Zombie Massacre – May 25th Downtown. Go!

Zoo Brew – May 25 7:00 p.m. Go! (Hint, head to the high gravity beers when the gate opens. This line gets long!) Love the Zoo Brew.

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beer Festival – 10/13/2012

