Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Two for Tuesday Midtown. Double your fun today.

I saw this ride at the coffee shop this morning.

And I was not the only one taking pictures.

My day began mid-morning. As I jumped on my bike for the ride to work, I noticed the sun BEATING down on me. Wow. It was hot and I hadn’t started my bike ride. Good ride into work though. As I was rolling thru Shelby Farms, I noticed two young women attempting to take a picture of themselves, steadying the camera on a wooden fence. They lined up their shot, they both got in the picture… and I rolled by with a HUGE smile on my face. Cheese! I hope she got my good side 🙂

Work was busy. To make matters worse, it looks like I will be heading to work early in the morning and staying late tomorrow. I spoke to a co-worker today. He drove into the Cooper Young neighborhood today. It was the first time he had been to Cooper Young. “Black Lodge Video”, “Celtic”, “Sweet Grass”, “Java Cabana”, “Cafe Ole”; these were all the names of places he had heard of, but he had never been to the actual neighborhood. Now he has. I will have a follow-up talk with him tomorrow on his thoughts about 38104. Should be interesting.

News from Memphis Daily News reports that Bosco’s Squared will expand and enclose their patio. Good for them. I’ve been there when it is busy. They need the space. Next up? That gingerbread house next to the former Paulette’s restaurant. That may be turned into a coffee shop. Watch out Otherlands, Republic, Java Cabana, and Starbucks. There may be a new coffee slinger in town. I welcome a new coffee shop on Madison. I would ride my bike there for some iced coffee. Let the groovy-ness flow. Memphis Pizza Cafe? They may get a slight expansion. Have you tried to get into Memphis Pizza Cafe on a Friday or Saturday evening? The place is packed. PLEASE expand Memphis Pizza Cafe. Read the article here from Memphis Daily News.

The ride home tonight? Good. The weather was pur-fect. I really liked the ride home. How do I end the evening? I picked this up:

Big Bite Peach Wheat beer. I have never tried this beer. What I am curious about is the peach taste. Does it have an “artificial” flavor? Can you even taste the peach flavor? Is it any good? The cost? $5.00. Guess I will find out tonight.

You have an excellent “hump day” and I will see you back here tomorrow for more bikes, buggies, and peach wheat beers. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

Bike to work: May 18th “Bike To Work Day 2012″

Bikesploitation II – May 19th 6:30 p.m. – 10:15 p.m. Read more about it here at Facebook. (Thanks Sarah!)

Carmina Burana – Memphis Symphony May 19 and 20th. Go!

Memphis Zombie Massacre – May 25th Downtown. Go!

Zoo Brew – May 25 7:00 p.m. Go! (Hint, head to the high gravity beers when the gate opens. This line gets long!) Love the Zoo Brew.

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beer Festival – 10/13/2012

