Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thirsty Thursday Midtown. Waffles. Get some.

Nothing but love.

Wait. What? Since I forgot my waffle yesterday, I got my waffle fix today. Picking up the new edition of the Memphis Flyer, I skimmed over the edition. What really stuck out was the Levitt Shell Schedule. A full calendar of events on two pages, plus f.a.q.’s for the concert center. Read it Midtown. Good stuff.

Also, I found a plastic bag in the mail today. You can leave cans of food in the bag and your mail man will pick up the bag Saturday from your mail box. Give food if you can.

Bike ride today was good both ways. I can’t complain. The weather was excellent this mid-morning. Loved it.

So here is where we take a turn. A friend sent me an email. He wanted an interview with me regarding my experience working in show business for 15 years. Six questions. Easy. Well it took nearly an hour to answer the questions. Here are the questions and answers:

Question #1. Why were attracted to working in show business?
You know the old saying? “There’s no business like show business?” It’s true. Live performances are like living on the edge daily. So much can go wrong and so much can go right. You never know what is going to happen from show to show. You hope for the best and prepare for the worst.
Question #2. Best show ever seen?
Maybe Metallica on the Ride the Lightning tour at the Majestic Theatre. Early to mid 80’s. Sold out show and they killed. They just hammered the audience non-stop. Or Motorhead in the 90’s. I watched their sound guy push all the dials to 11 on the sound board at the start of the show.  “We are Motorhead and we are going to clean your clock”. Thats what Lemmy said. My jaw dropped as the band began to play. It was as if I was standing behind a 747 at takeoff. Holy cow! Loud and great. Again, the band just HAMMERED the audience without letting up. Excellent.
Question #3 What makes a great live show?
Pyro is a crutch. Cool sometimes, but some WELL KNOWN bands use it to make up for their lack of a stage show. I do say that lights CAN add for a good show. Pink Floyd, Iron Maiden, Motorhead (Bomber Light rig). Some of the best shows have been hypnotic. The singer or band pulls you into the song strongly. The Doors did it very well, and U2 does it very well today (and I am not even a fan of U2). What many small bands do not understand is that you must have stage presence and make your show EXCITING. If you’re not excited about your music your fans won’t be either.
Question #4 Craziest thing you have seen at a show?
I was at a White Stripes show in Houston. I could see backstage from my seat. The opening band (dont remember the name) went over their time. Their manager is motioning them to stop playing off stage. They play on. The band finally ends the set. The manager comes out from the side of stage and KICKS the singer in the ass. I mean KICKS HIM IN THE ASS. ON STAGE. PUTS A FOOT IN HIS ASS. I died laughing. Another story. I was trapped backstage once with a favorite band of mine. Listening to the band talk to fans, I rolled my eyes. Dumbest answers to fans ever. Total Spinal Tap. I also had a request to meet a tour managers dog back stage. I passed.
Question #4 Craziest thing I’ve seen at a show?
Also, I was working a show at the Majestic. I was in the basement. Many hallways. I told the accountant I was going to get a soda from the soda machine. I walk down the hall. I take a few turns. A couple of minutes later I walk by the accountants office. “I thought you were getting a soda?” he asked. “I am” I reply. I didn’t want to say I had gotten lost in the basement and was walking in circles. A Spinal Tap moment.
Question #5 How have concerts changed since the 80’s?
Money. Concerts cost way more now. My first concert ticket cost $12.00. Scorpions, Iron Maiden, and Girls School. Back then artists made money selling ALBUMS. Now artists have to make money selling tickets with a “guarantee” for the show. (You WILL get $200,000 for playing the show, no matter how many tickets you sell. DUMB!) Most artists dont make money selling albums anymore. Record industry is in the toilet. Also, you never knew what songs were going to the played at a concert. It was a mystery. Now you know the whole set list from setlist.com BEFORE the show. And hey, if I dont go to the show, I can watch the WHOLE show on youtube the next day.
Question #6 Any other bands you want to see that you haven’t seen?
Diamond Head. I’ve pretty much seen all the bands I want to see. Black Sabbath reunion. Killer Dwarfs. Krokus. The Misfits for sure. Soundgarden.
That wrapped up the short interview. Yes, I still have dreams (nightmares?) that I am working shows. Usually I have the dreams about working shows once a week. Any big shows I want to see in the future? Not really. Some bands are lucky I can even listen to their c.d. anymore.
Plans for tomorrow? Bike ride to work in the early morning. Coffee? Yes.
See you here tomorrow for more interviews, waffles and the Memphis Flyer. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

Memphis Library Book Sale – May 11-12. Cheap books. Buy ‘em by the box.

Bike to work: May 18th “Bike To Work Day 2012″

Carmina Burana – Memphis Symphony May 19 and 20th. Go!

Memphis Zombie Massacre – May 25th Downtown. Go!

Zoo Brew – May 25 7:00 p.m. Go! (Hint, head to the high gravity beers when the gate opens. This line gets long!) Love the Zoo Brew.

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beer Festival – 10/13/2012

