Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Two for Tuesday Midtown. Coffee times two.

“Yes, one iced coffee please”. That done, I read the news. Thirty minutes later I was riding away from Coffee Town. The temperature this morning was nice and cool, great for a morning commute. Other than a few small branches, the storm didn’t do too much damage to the Greenline the day before. The first mile was rough, but afterwards I picked up the pace. By the time I reached Shelby Farms I was eating those northwestern hills for breakfast this morning. The ride was good.

Work, work, work, then I was off to the Greenline. Here is where things get weird. Ever hear that song by Judas Priest “Breaking the Law”? So I’m headed down the street towards Shelby Farms. I have posted a few times about the barricade along the farm road near the corner of Walnut Grove Rd and Farm Rd. Yes, there are several large signs posted for motorists.

Daily I watch as cars ignore the sign and attempt to drive thru. So I am riding in the middle of the closed street. There “should” be no cars on the street since the cars cannot get past the barricade. What do I see approaching me? A “law enforcement” car (I’m not saying “which” city the vehicle was associated with). I shake my head as he drives by. Dude, unless you can fold up that poe-leese mo-bile into that three-foot barricade, you are turning around. I sat at the corner waiting for the light to change and watched as the “poe-leese mo-bile” came back down the road. Yup. “Road Closed to Thru Traffic” means ALL “vee-hickles”. Just sayin’.

Next? I am on the bridge in Shelby Farms crossing the river. Two police officers are standing on the bridge looking into the river. Hmmm… looking for a body? Very weird.

No wait, my evening gets stranger still. I finished my ride. I get off my bike. I am loading the bike onto my vehicle. “Do you have any jumper cables?” A guy is standing there asking me for cables. “I need heavy-duty cables”. Uhhh… I have standard jumper cables. I show him the cables. “No, those aren’t big enough” he says. “Sorry man” I reply. And here he goes. Wait for it. “Do you have money for me to buy bigger jumper cables?” “Uhhhh nooo…”

I’m not sure when the weirdness set in for the evening, but it was a strange one.

Oh yeah, Memphis is number one. Yup, Memphis is ranked as the number one FATTEST city in the country. Thanks Newsweek! Nearly one-third of Memphis citizens are obese. Just a hint; get out and exercise. Walk, jog or ride your bike. Salad? Try Cheffies (Hot summer, cold salad!). Read more from the Commercial Appeal. And yes, I was once very over weight (6 years ago). Exercising twice a day and eating right fixed that weight problem. I know how hard it is to lose weight.

Alright, I’m done. Have a great hump day tomorrow and I will see you here for more “poe-leese vee-hickles”, salads, and bikes. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

Memphis Library Book Sale – May 11-12. Cheap books. Buy ‘em by the box.

Bike to work: May 18th “Bike To Work Day 2012″

Carmina Burana – Memphis Symphony May 19 and 20th. Go!

Memphis Zombie Massacre – May 25th Downtown. Go!

Zoo Brew – May 25 7:00 p.m. Go! (Hint, head to the high gravity beers when the gate opens. This line gets long!) Love the Zoo Brew.

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beer Festival – 10/13/2012

