Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thirsty Thursday Midtown.

My varied work schedule has thrown me for a loop. Yes, I started my work day at noon today. I drove to work instead of riding the bicycle. The reason? First Thursday Cooper Young.

With many restaurants to choose from, we picked Mulan Bistro tonight. The last visit to Mulan Bistro was okay. From the previous visit I thought the core of the meats needed to have more flavor. Tonight my opinion has changed. I took a chance and ordered Chicken Pad Thai. The dish contained egg, noodles, and chicken with an interesting sauce. Rice came as a side item. I mixed the rice with the chicken and noodles. Was it good? I cleaned my plate off. That dish was excellent. $13 for a plate that we shared. Not bad at all.

The egg roll? That was good too. If you get the sauce, watch out for the spicy mustard sauce. Dipping the egg roll into the mustard, I took a large bite. My nose felt like it was about to explode. That is some SPICY mustard sauce.

The odd part of the evening? Mulan Bistro did not serve wine. I’m not sure if it was only tonight or Mulan Bistro just doesn’t have a license to do so. Looking over the beer list, my wife noticed Angry Orchard Cider. “I’ll have the Angry Orchard Cider” she said. Good call. She liked the cider. Our dinner was very good. When we return, I will order the same dish.

My day is now over at 9:00 p.m. Tomorrow’s work schedule starts early. I expect a busy day. Bike ride to work, bike ride home, dinner with friends.

One more thing. Be on the look out for the “super moon” Saturday night at 10:35 p.m. My prediction? More crazies out on the street. Also, more zombies and vampires to avoid, just sayin’.

See you back here tomorrow for more food, moons and cider. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

Memphis Library Book Sale – May 11-12. Cheap books. Buy ‘em by the box.

Bike to work: May 18th “Bike To Work Day 2012″

Carmina Burana – Memphis Symphony May 19 and 20th. Go!

Memphis Zombie Massacre – May 25th Downtown. Go!

Zoo Brew – May 25 7:00 p.m. Go! (Hint, head to the high gravity beers when the gate opens. This line gets long!) Love the Zoo Brew.

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beer Festival – 10/13/2012

