Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The weekend is here. Do something. Get outside Midtown.

I did wake early this morning. Then I went right back to sleep. Waking up again at 1:00 p.m. (Holy Cow!), I dressed myself and made my way to Coffee Town.

Hmmm…. I have to get some lunch… How about Central BBQ and a beef sandwich? So I downed my coffee and went to find some lunch. Sitting on the patio, I enjoyed my beef sandwich.

Loving me some Central BBQ.

(doubtful Central BBQ sells more than 5 beef sandwiches a week. I’m from Texas, which explains a lot) While sitting on the patio enjoying my lunch in the beautiful weather, I began to read “The Dark Side of the Moon” by John Harris. You guessed it. The book is about the making of the iconic album by Pink Floyd (“By the way, which one’s Pink?”). Hey where did you get the book? Oh yeah. I downloaded the book from the Memphis Library for FREE yesterday. I usually check the new books added to the library weekly and found this one. A few clicks later, and the book was downloaded to my Kindle app. Easy enough. The first third of the book is some history of the band and the lead up to the “making of” the great album.

Strangely enough, this week I thought to myself “Why don’t I have Pink Floyd music on my Ipod?” I am certain I have a few P.F. CD’s here and there. Since I have the book, I must include the music for my ride to work playlist. Funny how things work out. Cosmic yeah?

Finished my sandwich and headed home. (I walked to Central BBQ by the way) While walking across the street, I noticed Casablanca restaurant is coming to the property directly across the street from Central BBQ (Central Ave. location).

Not that I am a fan of Casablanca, but it is good to have a variety in the neighborhood.

Dinner? Pho Saigon.

I could move from Memphis and return ten years later and still have the same exact bowl of soup. Consistency is what they give you at Pho Saigon. Dinner for two? $10.

On the way home we stopped by Raffe’s to pick up some beer. I grabbed some refreshing wheat beer.

As I was walking to the counter I saw a sign, “$4.50 special”. That CANNOT be correct. I picked up a six-pack and set the beer on the counter. “Is this price correct?” I asked the owner. “Yes. They told me I MUST have a special. I’m not even making fifty cents on each six-pack. Water is more expensive than this six-pack.” Pomegranate wheat beer. Well this should be interesting. I believe it will go one of two ways; either I will love the beer or hate the beer. The owner said a man purchased several cases of the beer when he saw the price.

My exhausting day is nearly done. See YOU back here tomorrow for more beer, Pink Floyd and Pho Saigon. Cheers.

Events coming your way Midtown:

First Thursday – May 3rd – Cooper Young Thursday evening. Get out, see people, have a drink and eat some food. Oh yeah, there are usually bands playing as well.

Memphis Library Book Sale – May 11-12. Cheap books. Buy ‘em by the box.

Bike to work: May 18th “Bike To Work Day 2012″

Carmina Burana – Memphis Symphony May 19 and 20th. Go!

Memphis Zombie Massacre – May 25th Downtown. Go!

Zoo Brew – May 25 7:00 p.m. Go! (Hint, head to the high gravity beers when the gate opens. This line gets long!) Love the Zoo Brew.

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beer Festival – 10/13/2012

