Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Two for Tuesday Midtown. Coffee? No. Tea today.

Interesting day today. No coffee? I have a sinus headache. I ordered tea for a change. Something else was different today. I added two additional miles each way to my commute to work. That means an extra eleven minutes added to my ride. 26.4 miles round trip. Where did I ride? East down Central, north on Flicker, east on Garden, north on Humes past Poplar, then over to the Greenline. The neighborhood was quiet early in the morning. Different? Yes. You have to shake things up every now and then. But the big question is WHY I added the two additional miles. Today marks eleven months of commuting to work. For those of you playing at home, that is three flat tires, one good wreck and countless days of excellent rides. Remember, my bike cost a total of $25, I didn’t buy fancy gear, just a couple of baskets and a tool kit. You can commute to work as well.

Like beer? Memphis is getting a craft brewery downtown. Better yet, one of the partners is Mid-South Malts Mike Lee. He certainly knows how to make beer. What I like best is the news that the brewery wants to sell growlers. Taste beer, buy a growler, enjoy your day downtown. High Cotton Brewing Company you had me at growler. Read more about the new brewery from the Commercial Appeal here.

The ride home from work? Good. I believe today was “national ride your bike on the Greenline”. So many people were out riding this evening. Loved it. And I beat the train by two minutes.

My work schedule is beginning to change this week. Some days I will start at noon and other days I will start at ten. I have to check my calendar daily just to figure out when I am supposed to be at work.

Alright, I’m done. I’m getting back to my sinus headache. I hope you have a great week. Come back tomorrow for more tea, bikes and headaches. Cheers.

Trolley Night – Friday April 27th Downtown Friday evening, South Main. Go! Go see art, drink some wine, ride the trolley and eat some food or snacks.

First Thursday – May 3rd – Cooper Young Thursday evening. Get out, see people, have a drink and eat some food. Oh yeah, there are usually bands playing as well.

Bike to work: May 18th “Bike To Work Day 2012″

Carmina Burana – Memphis Symphony May 19 and 20th. Go!

Zoo Brew – May 25 7:00 p.m. Go! (Hint, head to the high gravity beers when the gate opens. This line gets long!) Love the Zoo Brew.

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest – 10/13 GO! GO! GO!

