Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Midtown. Here comes your work week like a two by four.

Up early this morning, and I am off to Coffee Town. I sit and drink my coffee and read the news. Afterwards, I jump on the bicycle for my commute to work. “Hey, didn’t you just write yesterday that you were going to rest your back and not ride to work Monday?” That is what I wrote. Those who know me well know that I am a stubborn mule. “Must pedal to work!” How did I do? The first mile was not good. My pace was all over the place. My back felt okay, but strangely my legs forgot how to pedal. After the first mile, my legs kicked into gear. Not the best ride today, but my legs got the job done.

For those of you playing at home, yes I wore the Memphis Skull t-shirt along the Greenline today.

Coolest shirt out there this morning. I mean really cool. As in 50 degree’s cold this morning. Where is global warming that everyone is speaking of? I need a warm hug!

I am sure my job description states somewhere “investigate why some     (un-named) departments are holding paperwork up”. Hmmm…. let’s see, I mailed the paperwork off several weeks ago. Haven’t heard anything back as of today. I send an email. “Yeah that paperwork I sent out several weeks ago…?” The reply? “We’ll check on that RIGHT NOW!” Uh-huh. I looked up the date the paperwork was sent out. SEVEN WEEKS AGO! I could walk there, do the paperwork myself and walk back in that amount of time. Are you kidding me?

Ride home? The bright side? It was warm in the afternoon. The downside? Wind. My enemy. Up there with glass, flat tires, and departments that refuse to complete paperwork. And neti pots (I will save neti pots for another post. Me and neti pot are NOT best friends). So after dealing with said department about unresolved paperwork, I made my way home. The wind was blowing at me from the North or North-east. Which ever way the wind was blowing, it was not helping me at all. I raised my fist to the wind in anger, “Stop, damned-est wind!”. (I didn’t really do that, since I would have looked very silly, but you get the picture.) Wind gauges. I must look up wind gauges online for portable use. “Yes, I am riding into a headwind of 13.7 miles per hour.” That sounds clever. Better than “it was windy today”.

And yes I started the ride with a sinus headache. Which certainly didn’t help the bike ride. S’alright. I coasted some and made my way home slower than usual.

Dinner? Chicken and (pretend) mac and cheese. Good stuff.

More tired than usual. Time for an early night-cap and some reading. Oh yeah, been reading that “To Live Is To Die” book about the late Metallica bassist Cliff Burton. Good book. The intricate stuff about songs, amps and exact notes played on songs will turn some people off, but the book has other great stuff. Stories I have heard from friends who were there first hand are recounted in the book. I’m happy with the biography.

See you back here tomorrow for more books, bikes, coffee and cheese. See ya!

Trolley Night – Friday April 27th Downtown Friday evening, South Main. Go! Go see art, drink some wine, ride the trolley and eat some food or snacks.

First Thursday – May 3rd – Cooper Young Thursday evening. Get out, see people, have a drink and eat some food. Oh yeah, there are usually bands playing as well.

Bike to work: May 18th “Bike To Work Day 2012″

Carmina Burana – Memphis Symphony May 19 and 20th. Go!

Zoo Brew – May 25 7:00 p.m. Go! (Hint, head to the high gravity beers when the gate opens. This line gets long!) Love the Zoo Brew.

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest – 10/13 GO! GO! GO!

