Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sunday. Coffee, sandwiches and love. Get some.

Early post today Midtown. The weather is beautiful. Laundry done? Check. Coffee? Check. Breakfast taco’s? Check. Cheffie’s Cafe? Check. Wait. What?

I am embarrassed to admit it, but today was the first time I visited Cheffie’s.

Dude, you ride by the place five days a week, and you have never stopped in? I know, I know. Cheffie’s has been on my “to do list” for months on end. The wait is over. I checked Cheffie’s out. First of all the place is roomy and bright. If you need a salad, sandwich, wine or a beer, this is the place for you. Secondly, the place is VERY bike friendly. Want t.v.? Count them, THREE outdoor flat screen t.v.’s on the patio. We ordered a sandwich that we split. The sandwich was good with a side of chips. I will be back for dinner and a beer one evening while riding home. You can count on that.

When we left Cheffie’s, I noticed a tent set up on the corner of the Greenline and High Point Terrace. “Alright. What is going on?” I asked the two guys under the tent. Cheffie’s was giving away water and juice for those walking, jogging or riding along the Greenline.

Today was the first day, and they said they would be out every weekend. (Cheffie’s, you picked the right guy to be outside today on the Greenline. Friendly, smiling staff are worth their weight in gold.) Nice for a local business to give out water and juice along the Greenline. I still have to wonder why other local businesses and charities have yet to occupy the corners of the Greenline intersections. Several hundred people walk, run or ride by these intersections daily, especially on the weekend. This is a great way to advertise your business.

Books? I am still reading “Isaac’s Storm” by Erik Larson. Great book. Love the stat’s, stories, science and history told by the author.

Since my back is still out, I doubt I will ride to work tomorrow (I am not happy about that). I will give my back a few more days to heal, then it’s back in the saddle. I hope you have a great weekend, I know I did. See you back here Monday for more coffee, Greenline, and bikes. Cheers.

The Tempest – Shelby Farms April 11-22.

Bike to work: May 18th “Bike To Work Day 2012″

Carmina Burana – Memphis Symphony May 19 and 20th. Go!

Zoo Brew – May 25 7:00 p.m. Go! (Hint, head to the high gravity beers when the gate opens. This line gets long!) Love the Zoo Brew.

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest – 10/13 GO! GO! GO!

