Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

LOVE THE WEATHER MIDTOWN! Wings and art. This is one of the best days of the year so far.

Lot’s to do today. First stop; Coffee Town. “Waffle?” the waiter asked. “No! I’m saving it for the wing festival downtown.” I sat and read the news, drinking my coffee. After a while it was time. TIME FOR WINGS!

Just so you know, this was my first trip to the wing festival downtown. I wasn’t sure what to expect. I knew you were asked to make donations at each teams booth. I really had no other expectations. The event? FANTASTIC! The Southern Wing Festival is easily one of the best festivals Memphis has to offer. So what did I do at the festival? Eat! Wing after wing after wing. I was loving it. Did I make it to every booth? No. After two hours, I couldn’t sample more wings. Some of the teams were okay. And some of the teams were the best in the event. Here are notes from some of the booths I visited:

Buffalo Soldiers Booth: Tangy flavor, well cooked, nice heat, very good.

Chef Michael Wingin’ It: Sweet, slight heat, very good.

Ubees: Here is where I had some problems with the flavor. The pineapple wings had a fair amount of pineapple flavor, but not much heat. The wings needed something else in the flavor. The Honey Hot wings had great heat, but not nearly enough honey flavor. Kind of like to much heat on one, not enough on the other. Okay wings, just fix the heat.

Tommy Want Wingy: Great taste! Clean lemon flavor (I later learned the team used lime in the recipe.) Great heat and flavor as well. A team member said the team worked for MONTHS on the recipe, and it shows.

Dirty Mike and the Boys: Tangy wings, no heat, mussel sauce (so I was told). Slight citrus taste. Okay flavor.

Helping Hands Chefs: Traditional BBQ sauce flavor. I asked, “What does the sauce taste like?” to a team member.  “BBQ” was the answer. Wow. Hmmm….

The best wings in my opinion? Down near the end of the row sat the Express America Trucking booth. The wings? FANTASTIC. Wow. Wings can’t get better than this. Loved the wings at this booth.

All in all this event was excellent. My only complaint? Get more trash cans. Half the time I was looking for somewhere to throw my trash away.

Bands? Oh yeah. After a few hours I was walking towards the exit gate and I heard music. “Black Sabbath” music to be exact. Who is playing Black Sabbath music at a wing festival. The answer? “The Young Guns”. The name says it all. Young kids bashing it out on stage. And I mean really bashing it out, like young kids should. Good sound from  this band. The best part? When the guitar player put his guitar behind his head and played a guitar solo. That was right out of the 70’s and 80’s playbook. Good stuff Young Guns.

Which team do I need to be on? Wingnutz! I LOVED this booth.

It was “the” heavy metal booth at the festival. They would have welcomed me with open arms, except I wasn’t wearing my Motorhead shirt today. (The temperature was to cold). Doh! I’m here for ya Wingnutz! I should be on that team!

One festival done, now on to the V & E Artwalk. Again, I wasn’t sure what to expect from the first V & E event. Walking up I was very surprised how many artists had booths set up. The art? Very good. Did I buy something? Yes I did. Two things actually. First up, one of the coolest shirts in Memphis:

LOVE IT. You will see me riding down the Greenline wearing this shirt.

Next up? This etching from a great artist.

$15 and it was mine. Look closely and you can spot PacMan, as in the video game.

I spoke to half a dozen of the vendors and they were all pleased with the crowd turn out. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE have the V & E Greenline Artwalk event again! We loved it.

Really a fantastic day Memphis. So much to do in this city and so much great stuff. Get out. Go see it. “Get busy living, or get busy dying.” Come back tomorrow for more coffee, art and wings. Cheers.

The Tempest – Shelby Farms April 11-22.

Bike to work: May 18th “Bike To Work Day 2012″

Carmina Burana – Memphis Symphony May 19 and 20th. Go!

Zoo Brew – May 25 7:00 p.m. Go! (Hint, head to the high gravity beers when the gate opens. This line gets long!) Love the Zoo Brew.

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest – 10/13 GO! GO! GO!

