Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Waffle Wednesday Midtown, and it almost didn’t happen. What? Let me tell you all about it. I stop by the coffee shop before my bike ride. I walk up to the counter. I tell the barista, “One coffee and a waffle”. I open my wallet. I find ONE DOLLAR and nothing else. Go back. Go back to yesterday. Go back to the parking lot of the store. I GAVE MY CREDIT CARD TO MY WIFE TO BUY ME SOME BEER. Back to the story. I am standing at the counter holding a ONE DOLLAR BILL. “Uh…” I said. I start laughing, telling the staff about giving my wife my credit card. Thankfully the staff know where I am every day, at the coffee shop. I call my wife. “Uh, you have my credit card”. My wife said she would stop by later to pay for my waffle and coffee. And she did stop by to pay. So I did have my waffle to celebrate Waffle Wednesday.

That was a close one. The ride to work was cool but good. Again not my fastest pace, but the ride was good.

Getting to work, the paint crew was working on painting the walls. An hour into the job, one of the painters said “whoops” as he pulled a wire from our copier / printer. Guess what. Painters are not I.T. guys. Plugging the wire into ANY socket doesn’t connect the copier / printer to the server. It has to be the correct socket. I call I.T. about the printer. It will have to be a service call to fix the problem. After several hours of sharing one slow printer, I was so furious, I decided to fix the problem myself. “ONE OF THESE PORTS MUST WORK!” I shouted to no one. After several minutes the printer was working. For all of your I.T. needs, DO NOT HAVE YOUR PAINTER FIX YOUR COPIER.

The U.S. justice department is suing Apple and publishers for e-book price-fixing. I have always wondered why e-book prices are so high. There is no paper, no shipping, and no sales person. And I can’t resell my e-book or give it to someone else. Give me some low e-book prices!

Speaking of books, I ordered two new books today (real books, not e-books). One is for my wife. I think she will enjoy the book. The other book is one that I have wanted for many years.

The work day soon ended and I was on my way home. The ride TO the Greenline was slower than usual. You cannot fix stupid! As I made my way to the Greenline, I noticed a car drive past TWO signs that stated “ROAD CLOSED TO THRU TRAFFIC”.

Slowing to a stop when she notices she cannot drive thru the barricade, she puts the car in reverse. Wait. It gets better. ANOTHER vehicle pulls up behind the first vehicle. The second vehicle goes AROUND the first car and drives up to the barricade. I guess she didn’t notice the two large “ROAD CLOSED TO THRU TRAFFIC” signs posted on both sides of the road. You cannot fix stupid; times two.

Once I was on the Greenline, the ride was fine. Many people were out and about today along the path. I love the Greenline.

Dinner? Grilled steak! Love it.

Tomorrow? Thirsty Thursday. Come back for more Closed Roads, waffles and one dollar bills. Cheers. And check out the events listed below.

Cycle Memphis April 14th. Meet 8:00 p.m. at Cooper Young. Go!

Rajun Cajun Crawfish Festival April 15th 12-6 Downtown. Get some.

Memphis Brew Fest: April 21st. Go!

The Tempest – Shelby Farms April 11-22.

V & E Greenline Artswalk – 4/21/2012 10:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. Go!

Bike to work: May 18th “Bike To Work Day 2012″

Carmina Burana – Memphis Symphony May 19 and 20th. Go!

Zoo Brew – May 25 7:00 p.m. Go! (Hint, head to the high gravity beers when the gate opens. This line gets long!) Love the Zoo Brew.

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest – 10/13 GO! GO! GO!

