Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy Easter. Ready for a great day out? I am.

I wrote earlier this week that I had never been to the V and E Greenline. “Uh, isn’t that near to your home location?” Yes it is. So I looked up the V and E Greenline on the map and made a plan. We loaded up our bikes, picked up a friend and started our trip to the V and E Greenline.

For those of you playing at home, the V and E Greenline is not the same as the Greenline that runs from East Memphis to Tilman. The V and E Greenline is shorter; 1.7 miles. The V and E Greenline is unpaved. Like the other Greenline, you have to cross a few streets as you travel along the trail.

So what did I think of the V and E Greenline? It’s good.

We parked on Stonewall, near the western end of the trail. If you are new to cycling, this trail may be good for you.

The miles are easy, the trail is flat and you get the feeling you are in a forest. Plus, V and E Greenline has many trash cans along your route, the longer greenline does not. My wife does not bike too much. She really liked the V and E trail. The distance was perfect for her. I have to say the ride was nice. Go check out the V and E Greenline.

That 3.4 mile ride made us hungry and thirsty. Next stop? The Bayou Restaurant. Beer please, oh and some crawfish.

AND… we parked on Madison. This is the first time I have parked on Madison. Kinda easy since those bike lanes were installed. Peeps.

Did someone mention peeps? Yup, The Bayou had peeps sitting on the bar. I checked with the bartender. “Take ’em if you want” said the bartender. Okay. “I have you now!” And I ate ’em.

Next up? I need coffee! Stat! We stopped in at the coffee shop. Few people were there and I felt lazy. I drank my coffee and read the news. “Hey, how about stopping by the book store?” I asked my wife. Off we went. I didn’t buy anything, but I enjoyed looking.

After the book store, we headed home. I needed my Easter nap. One hour later and I was ready to… GRILL. Fire the grill up! Steak, burgers, sausage and pork. Excellent.

I hope you had a great Easter. I know I did. Come back tomorrow for more grillin’, beer, and coffee. And check out the events below. Cheers.

Cycle Memphis April 14th. Meet t 8:00 p.m. at Cooper Young. Go!

Memphis Brew Fest: April 21st. Go!

The Tempest – Shelby Farms April 11-22.

V & E Greenline Artswalk – 4/21/2012 10:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. Go!

Bike to work: May 18th “Bike To Work Day 2012″

Carmina Burana – Memphis Symphony May 19 and 20th. Go!

Zoo Brew – May 25 7:00 p.m. Go! (Hint, head to the high gravity beers when the gate opens. This line gets long!) Love the Zoo Brew.

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest – 10/13 GO! GO! GO!

