Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Did the beautiful weather do you in Midtown?

So I wake up this morning late. Ever have that feeling like your are supposed to be somewhere doing something? “Hmmm…. I feel like I am supposed to be somewhere…” as I walk around the house scratching my head. “DOH! The Crawfish Cruise bike ride at Overton Square!” I kicked myself for not setting my alarm clock. I was very disappointed for not attending. Perfect weather today as well.

Since I screwed up that part of the day, I headed to the coffee shop. Sat down, drank some coffee and read the news. I sulked. I sulked some more.

Went home, did laundry and played Skyrim. Although there is a story to follow in the game, I can’t seem to follow the story. I must be too old. I’m sure a 12-year-old kid can figure out these new games. For me, the game is just a big hack and slash. I did make some progress though. Five months of playing and I still have a good ways to go on the game.

By 3:30 we were ready to go. Where? Overton Square Crawfish Fest.

Good attendance Midtown. The first order of business was crawfish and drinks.

We sat at a table and talked with the couple next to us. The crawfish were not as spicy as last week downtown at Mudbugs in March. I do believe the orders of crawfish were larger than those from the Mudbugs in March downtown. So we ate. And ate more. Then we went inside the Bayou Restaurant and ordered a cheese and sausage plate while we people watched from inside.

Oh yeah. We also purchased a painting at the festival. Two actually. The Doors are two paintings for $40.

I saw Paul Ryburn (I read his blog daily) sitting at a table, chewing on some crawfish. I wanted to stop and say hello to him, but I didn’t want to disturb him, so I let him eat his mudbugs.

I did notice one guy walking around wearing a Motorhead t-shirt. Hey bud, I was here first. Go home and change into your Kiss t-shirt. Just sayin’. Speaking of Motorhead, I fell out of my chair when I saw the Cooper Young Regional Beerfest Facebook page. If you look up the festival Facebook page, you will see ME dead center, wearing my Motorhead t-shirt (and black sunglasses), with my beer held high.

Like I said, I went last year and LOVED the event. Go!

Next up? My pre-Easter nap. Ah…. a nice one hour nap did the trick. Plans for Sunday? Maybe some Tunica and slot machines. Come on THREE SEVENS! (Yeah I know, slots are for suckers… but…)

Come back tomorrow for more crawfish, beers and festivals. Cheers. And check out the events listed below.

Cycle Memphis April 14th. Meet t 8:00 p.m. at Cooper Young. Go!

Memphis Brew Fest: April 21st. Go!

The Tempest – Shelby Farms April 11-22.

V & E Greenline Artswalk – 4/21/2012 10:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. Go!

Bike to work: May 18th “Bike To Work Day 2012″

Carmina Burana – Memphis Symphony May 19 and 20th. Go!

Zoo Brew – May 25 7:00 p.m. Go! (Hint, head to the high gravity beers when the gate opens. This line gets long!) Love the Zoo Brew.

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest – 10/13 GO! GO! GO!

