Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Finally Friday Midtown. Get ready for fun this weekend.

Yes. I checked the weather forecast yesterday. I KNEW what the temperature would be this morning; cold. So of course I put on shorts and a t-shirt this morning for my bike ride to work. Walking outside this morning I thought to myself, “This will not be bad”. Wrong. When I arrived at the Greenline, I forgot how the tree’s blocked the sunlight. My legs were not cold, but my arms were. It was COLD! At every spot that the sun broke thru the tree’s I slowed my ride in order to warm up. This went on for nearly 5.5 miles. As I neared Shelby Farms, the sunlight was finally able to shine down on me. At this moment a young woman jogging on the street turned towards the Greenline with a confused look on her face. “Which was is better? East or West?” she asked me. “Go west” I told her. I always think “everyone” knows about the Greenline, but it’s not true.

Something I also noticed was the amount of people out jogging, riding, walking and cycling this morning. Because of the holiday weekend, many people used their day off to enjoy the Greenline. At the 9.2 mile point I noticed a young cyclist riding the opposite way. She had a huge smile on her face. She appeared so happy to be riding her bicycle in the park this morning. I said it before and I will say it again. Wanna be happy? Ride a bicycle.

And here is where my day takes a wrong turn. I spent Thursday at work getting our office ready to be painted. The manager from the building told me yesterday he would have the painting crew ready to paint TODAY. When I arrived at work I noticed no county staff working. IT IS A COUNTY EMPLOYEE HOLIDAY TODAY. This guy can’t keep an appointment to save his life. This is not the first time this guy has “forgotten” an appointment. I will check on Monday if maybe he can have the office painted on July 4th or December 25th. I am positive he can put those dates into his work schedule.

Which brings me to my city, county and state employee rant. (If you are a city, county, state employee sorry if you take offense.) I have a problem with most city / county / state employee’s. I am not a city / county / state employee. I work with county and state employee’s on a daily basis. I am no expert on city / county / state employee’s. I AM an expert on stupid. I know stupid when I am talking to stupid. City / county or state employee’s could NEVER work at McDonalds. Why? “You expect me to prepare that hamburger in less than one hour? I have to put in a request in triplicate, to three different managers, then wait four weeks to get approval from everyone. Then I have to submit a request for work items needed. Oh, and I need my employee holidays, sick leave, and bonus day’s off. So when did you want that burger?”

City / county / state employee’s do not have to produce like a private business. City / county / state employee’s can deal with 10 customers (read tax payers) in a day or 100 customers in a day. There is no need for city / county or state employee’s to hurry or to please the customer. The employee only has to do the bare minimum to keep their job. Now take the example of a private company. If you are an owner, you make sure your employee’s are serving as many customers as possible AND making sure the customers are happy. Private company’s HAVE TO PRODUCE; city / county and state employee’s DO NOT HAVE TO PRODUCE. If you believe I am wrong, look at your state D.M.V.’s, or your county tax offices. Stand in a long line, wait. Wait some more. Customer service? You want customer service? Yeah right. Remember, I work with these people on a daily basis. I know what I am talking about. I am not anti-government. I am anti-stupid.

So your thinking; “Your wrong. It’s just one guy that’s dumb”. Nope. I received a letter from the state telling me our office has to fill out a form for customers. Cool. I call the guy at the state who sent me the form. The form was not clear on how to fill it out. Me “Hey, I received the form. How do we fill the form out?” Him “I don’t know.” Wow. He sent me a form and doesn’t know how to fill the form out. Me “Uh, can you find out and call me?”

Another example? I received a call from the state. Her “This person is missing a form.” Me “No, they don’t need it.” Her “Yes they do.” Me “No.” Her “Yes.” This went on for a few minutes. Finally I told her to read the form in question. She’s not getting it. Me “Read it again.” Still not getting it. I finally explained why the form wasn’t needed. (Remember, this is a form produced by the state) Her “Fine!” and she hung up on me. Stoopid. Every… single… day.

Rant complete.

Speaking of the county, I learned some interesting news. If you go to the Shelby County webpage, you will notice that Farm Road at Shelby Farms will have crews working on the street next week. (Gosh, wonder why they didn’t start today? On a holiday!) Hopefully this will not hang up my daily commute in any way.

WAIT! STOP THE PRESSES! I have news. Cooper Young Regional Beer Festival People. Here is the news from Facebook:

“The date for the 2012 Cooper-Young Regional Beerfest has been set for October 13. Put it on your calendar so you don’t forget. Hopefully, that will be a beautiful day like we have enjoyed for the past two years. We hope to see you there.”

The best part? October 13th is my birthday! They are having a beerfest on my birthday! Can’t get better than that. I went to the event last year. What makes this event different from the others? I talked and talked and talked to so many people while at this festival. It was more of a “come hang out and talk with people, oh and drink some beer too” beer festival. The event was really cool. Wait. My significant other doesn’t like beer. That’s okay. Last year the event provided FREE wrist bands for spouses that did not want to drink beer. That worked out great for us. My wife doesn’t like beer. She attended the event for free and talked with friends while I had a few beers. I hope the organizers are doing it again this year. It helps out greatly for some couples.

Plans for Saturday? Overton Square Crawfish people. Oh and the Crawfish Cruise at 10:00 a.m. See you back here tomorrow for more county employee’s, crawfish and bikes. And check out more events below.

Overton Square Crawfish Festival, April 7th 12-6. Plus bike ride 10:00 a.m.

Tour de Grizz April 7th. 5:30 p.m. Sounds like fun. Go!

Cycle Memphis April 14th. Meet t 8:00 p.m. at Cooper Young. Go!

Memphis Brew Fest: April 21st. Go!

The Tempest – Shelby Farms April 11-22.

V & E Greenline Artswalk – 4/21/2012 10:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. Go!

Bike to work: May 18th “Bike To Work Day 2012″

Carmina Burana – Memphis Symphony May 19 and 20th. Go!

Zoo Brew – May 25 7:00 p.m. Go! (Hint, head to the high gravity beers when the gate opens. This line gets long!) Love the Zoo Brew.

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest – 10/13 GO! GO! GO!

