Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Two for Tuesday Midtown. Get ready to rock.

In this post, I am actually starting from late last night. What happened? I received an email. My uncle who retired from the city was notified his pension had been terminated. The reason? The funds account was notified that my uncle HAD DIED. Yup. They called to inform him that he was dead. “Hello heaven. Yes, I need to speak with…”. Kinda sucks to be informed that your are dead. Especially when you are not dead. Later you will see how life imitates… life… or death.

Rain Tuesday? No way. I have a rain poncho. I’m good. So I had my coffee and headed out for the Greenline. The ride to work was fine. No problems. My pace was good as well.

I read lifehacker daily. You should too. Today lifehacker featured an article about how to get your bicycle ready for the warm weather. (A little late now Midtown, but read the article anyway.) “Lubricate, Lubricate, Lubricate!”

While at work, I received a phone call in the late afternoon. I was informed that a client had passed away. Wow. I didn’t know the person well, but it shook me up. Strange how death affects me. I wear skull and cross bone t-shirts daily, but I have a problem with death. Always have.

I watched as the storm passed over the office and waited for the rain to stop. By 5:00 p.m. the sky was clear. No rain! I get on my bike and find myself riding into a wind tunnel. I’m talking hurricane force wind. My speed was nearly 3 miles per hour. This ride home was gonna be fun. The first 2.5 miles was terrible. It was only after I reached Shelby Farms that I was protected from the wind. That is when I noticed how few people were out today. So I started counting. The total count? 28 people and two dogs. Plus ten extra minutes due to wind delay. Break like the wind!

Dinner tonight? Grilled chicken and rice. And that chicken was gooooood. Alright. I’m done for the day. Get ready for Waffle Wednesday Midtown and I will see you here tomorrow for more love, chicken, and wind. And check out the events listed below. New events added!

First Thursday @ Cooper Young April 5th. Go! (4th anniversary party).

Overton Square Crawfish Festival, April 7th 12-6. Plus bike ride 10:00 a.m.

Tour de Grizz  April 7th. 5:30 p.m. Sounds like fun. Go!

Cycle Memphis April 14th. Meet 8:00 p.m. at Cooper Young. Go!

Memphis Brew Fest: April 21st. Go!

Bike to work: May 18th(?) “Bike To Work Day 2012″

The Tempest – Shelby Farms April 11-22.

Carmina Burana – Memphis Symphony May 19 and 20th. Go!

Zoo Brew – May 25 7:00 p.m. Go! (Hint, head to the high gravity beers when the gate opens. This line gets long!) Love the Zoo Brew.

