Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome to Thirsty Thursday. Glad you made it. I hope you have rested up for the weekend because I’m adding MORE events to my calendar.

My Thursday morning routine is usually the same; coffee and a look at the new edition of the Memphis Flyer. But not today. I ordered my coffee and was about to sit down with the Flyer. Then I noticed the General Director of the Memphis Opera standing behind me. I usually see him every week since he gets coffee in the morning the same time as I do. I had a question for him. “Is the Memphis Opera included in the Memphis Symphony production of Carmina Burana?” The short answer I received is “no”. BUT, we went on to discuss music. Oh, boring classical music? No. We spoke at length about punk, rock, opera, and classical music. Ned Canty is very enthusiastic when it comes to music. Memphis is very lucky to have him. If you have the chance, chat with him. We also talked about the opera Don Pasquale 3-31-12 and 4-3-12. Tickets start at $15. Ned went on to say the cast is excellent for this event. Maybe I should check this opera out.

Wait. Go back. What is this about Carmina Burana? You know the music, you just don’t KNOW that you know the music. The godfather of thunder and lightning, Carl Orff shakes the planet with this tale of love, life, fate and fortune. Singing about drinking and gambling and loving, Orff created the mold for boy rockers. The chorus hammers the audience with sonic waves over and over. GO SEE THIS SHOW. I’ve been to several performances in the past and Carmina is excellent. May 19th and May 20th. Check out the details at www.Memphissymphony.org. GO!

After the chat I finished my coffee and headed to the Greenline. The first thing I noticed was the smell of a bad cigar. Weird. As I rode along, the smell never went away. As I reached the Highland intersection, I found the guy smoking the cigar. He was riding a bike and smoking the cigar at the same time. Pedal, pedal, pedal. I sped past him so I wouldn’t have to deal with the smoke. My ride went well. By the time I had reached Shelby Farms I was in a great mood. I have to say I am VERY lucky to be able to ride to work daily. I have a good job and a great wife. I may not be the richest man in the world, but I have a great life.

Looking over the Memphis Flyer, I noticed an ad for the Overton Square Crawfish Festival.

Near the bottom of the ad was an announcement for the “Crawfish Cruise”. Ride down Madison and decorate your bike. Register at 9:30 and ride at 10:00 a.m. Sounds like a plan.

I also checked the Slider Inn ad in the Flyer. This weeks ad is great. Page 42.

After work, I made my way along the Greenline heading west. I did see this ad for “The Tempest”. Shakespeare in the park. Coming at you soon.

See the schedule here for yourself. Thanks Tennessee Shakespeare Company.

Got home, showered, ate, then it was off to show two of the Italian Film Festival. “Scialla!” was the feature film. An interesting work. Funny too. Oh, and the event was FREE. FREE cookies and soda were served when the film ended. The theater had a good attendance tonight. We even sat near the same couple we sat near while attending the first show two days ago.

Okay. Are there enough events to keep you busy Midtown? I should say so. Tomorrow night is Trolley Night downtown as well as Sock It To Me Burlesque at the Brass Door. Go! I will see YOU back here tomorrow for more food, films and art. And check out more Memphis events below.

Trolley Night: Downtown South Main. March 30th. Art, wine and fun. Go!

And if you are downtown for Trolley Night, might as well go by the Brass Door for the Sock It To Me Burlesque Show. $10, 21+. Go! NEW SHOW TIME: 11:00 P.M.

Italian Film Festival April 3rd U of M. Italian Film Festival

Mudbugs in March, Court Square downtown, 3/31/2012 2:30 – 6:30 p.m. Go!

Don Pasquale Saturday 3-31-12 and 4-3-12 Go!

River City Brewers Festival: Saturday March 31st. Go!

Central BBQ – Sunday April 1st, 4:00 p.m. $10 Buffet! Go! Central Ave. Location.

First Thursday @ Cooper Young April 5th. Go! (4th anniversary party).

Overton Square Crawfish Festival, April 7th 12-6. Plus bike ride 10:00 a.m.

Memphis Brew Fest: April 21st. Go!

Bike to work: May 18th(?) “Bike To Work Day 2012″

The Tempest – Shelby Farms April 11-22.

Carmina Burana – Memphis Symphony May 19 and 20th. Go!

