Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Waffle Wednesday Midtown. Get some waffles.

Okay, I DIDN’T have waffles this morning. And I didn’t ride my bike to work. I had a doctor’s appointment to go to. I guess I could have taken my bike, since my doctor’s office is only about 4 miles away. I doubt my doctor would want to see me hot and sweaty. The good news? My check up results turned out great. I booked my next appointment ONE YEAR from now. I dig that. The downside was that I wanted to nap while waiting to see the doctor. After the appointment I went home… and took a nap. I’m not sure WHY I felt tired after the appointment.

Something is going on with MATA. While driving to work I noticed several bus drivers pulled over to the side of the street. Small vans were parked behind the bus. Guys in suits were talking. You know when guys in suits are standing around talking there is something going on. I noticed this same situation in two different places along Walnut Grove this morning. Something is going on at MATA.

Hey, Sock It To Me Burlesque is THIS Friday night. Time and location? 11:00 p.m. at the Brass Door downtown. Go! And here is the second part of the interview I conducted with two members of the group.

Living Loud “So the show time has changed. Tell the blog readers about it.”

Mistress of the Mic, Chloe du Bois “11:00 is the correct show time, you can still come in whenever, get drinks, maybe watch the band before us (not sure who they are yet), but burlesque starts downstairs at 11:00 pm, they’ll be giving separate hand stamps or wristbands or something for the burlesque attendees.”

Living Loud “What is the planned length of the show?”

Chloe du Bois “There is a band playing before us, not sure about them, but our show will be about an hour and a half total, with a small intermission in the middle so you can smoke ‘em if you got ‘em!”

Now over to the burlesque dancer Lady Doo Moi.

Living Loud “How did you get into burlesque dancing?”

Lady Doo Moi “I saw a picture of Dita Von Teese and fell in love!!”

Living Loud “Yeah, Dita Von Teese is very cool. I can understand your interest. Are the routines more difficult than they look from the audience perspective?”

Lady Doo Moi “Yes!”

Living Loud “I imagine the routines are difficult. What should people expect when they go to a burlesque show?”

Lady Doo Moi “To be entertained and see beautiful ladies!!”

Living Loud “Burlesque is very entertaining. Push the envelope! Where do dancers get the stage clothes?”

Lady Doo Moi “Thrift stores and craft stores and a whole lot of imagination….and time!”

Living Loud “Where do you get the inspiration for your routines? Do you come up with the routine or does it come from someone else?”

Lady Doo Moi “I have had inspiration come to me every way you can think of! Of course that includes a bottle of wine!”

Living Loud “Artists are inspired in various ways. In your experience, what is the audience makeup? More males or females?”

Lady Doo Moi “A good mix of both!”

Living Loud “I have to agree. The audience is not just a bunch of guys. The audience at burlesque shows is usually a good mix of men and women. My wife even attends some of the shows. Fun for everyone.”

If you have never attended a burlesque show, GO! Live entertainment beats your television EVERY SINGLE DAY.

I found this post from Central BBQ on Facebook today:

“1st Hump Day Hop Head Hoe Down! Tonight’s featured beer is O’Fallon Hemp Hop Rye. Free O’Fallon pint glass with every beer purchased!”

Maybe something new for Wednesday at Central BBQ (Central Ave location)? I hope they do this every week. I especially like the FREE glass offer. I live so close to Central BBQ I can walk to the patio (or ride my bike for 1 minute).

Alright. Get ready for Thirsty Thursday. And get ready for the next few days with TONS of events. See YOU back here tomorrow for more burlesque, film festivals, and love. Cheers.

Trolley Night: Downtown South Main. March 30th. Art, wine and fun. Go!

And if you are downtown for Trolley Night, might as well go by the Brass Door for the Sock It To Me Burlesque Show. $10, 21+. Go! NEW SHOW TIME: 11:00 P.M.

Italian Film Festival March 29th and April 3rd U of M. Italian Film Festival

Mudbugs in March, Court Square downtown, 2:30 – 6:30 p.m.

River City Brewers Festival: March 31st. Go!

Central BBQ – Sunday April 1st, 4:00 p.m. $10 Buffet! Go! Central Ave. Location.

First Thursday @ Cooper Young April 5th. Go! (4th anniversary party).

Overton Square Crawfish Festival, April 7th 12-6.

Memphis Brew Fest: April 21st. Go!

Bike to work: May 18th(?) “Bike To Work Day 2012″

