Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Waffle Wednesday Midtown. Get ready to rock.

My problem? I didn’t have a waffle this morning. Running late AGAIN today, I only had time for a quick cup of coffee and a fast scan of the morning news before I ran off to work. BUT, I did find THIS:

“All positions available. Apply within.”

That is correct. Republic Coffee is hiring. Apply at Republic Coffee. Tough job, working in a coffee shop. I probably couldn’t do it, but maybe you can. I worked as a bartender for a short while. Even back then the job was difficult. I could serve you a beer, coffee or a margarita. And that’s it. Wait, I also made a real mean coca-cola.

I ordered a new book today from Amazon; “Moneyball” by Michael Lewis. I like the theory behind the book, but although statistics can take you to the playoff’s, they may not be able to win a series. I will weigh in more when I read the book. And instead of waiting for the book to ship, I’m probably going to order a cheap e-book tonight. Many authors are racking up sales with cheap e-books. Good quality and $.99- $2.99 prices make me a happy customer.

My Nook to Android tablet has not been used for a week. Why? The power was drained and I couldn’t find the power cord for the tablet. I searched, and searched and searched. I looked in my vehicle, at work, backpacks; everywhere. After I gave up searching tonight, resigned that I lost the power cord, I looked down at my feet. What I thought was my phone charger was my Nook power cord. Wow. I feel real smart. The cord was right in front of me the whole time.

Yikes. Gas prices. I had to put $20 in my gas tank this week, since I can’t bike to work. I haven’t done that in a very long time. I usually spend $20 A MONTH on gas. Yeah, the gas prices only make me more than ready to ride my bike to work.

One song can change your day. Just as I was about to get out of my vehicle this morning, a song played on my Ipod. Smashing Pumpkins “Drown”. I usually don’t play this song on purpose, I had pressed shuffle this morning while on the way to work, and let random songs play. The song really has a great groove and just made the perfect beginning of my day. Sometimes it only takes one song to make you happy.

Okay, Nook Tablet is charging. Thinking about waffles for Thursday breakfast. Oh, and check out some of the upcoming events in Memphis below. See you tomorrow Midtown.

Trolley Night: Downtown South Main. March 30th. Art, wine and fun. Go!

And if you are downtown for Trolley Night, might as well go by the Brass Door for the Sock It To Me Burlesque Show. $10, 21+. Go!

River City Brewers Festival: March 31st. Go!

First Thursday @ Cooper Young April 5th. Go! (4th anniversary party).

Memphis Brew Fest: April 21st. Go!

