Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thirsty Thursday Midtown. Make way for the double wide, extra-large, now with 25% more fun blog. Oh and just so you know, today February 23rd was the BEST day of 2012 to be out walking, jogging or biking. But I’m getting ahead of myself.

I started the day at Coffee Town. I order a coffee. I order a waffle. (Yes it is not Waffle Wednesday. I saved up for this waffle though, let me tell ya.) Love me the waffles and coffee. Reading the new edition of the Memphis Flyer, I find some good stuff happening.

First up, Bardog downtown is open for breakfast at the “crack of dawn”.

Get crackin'.

You can’t beat the ads in Memphis. Thanks Memphis Flyer.

Next up, a special at the Butcher Shop (downtown location).

Steak and potato! Sign me up!

Remember, it is the DOWNTOWN location. Wednesday night special, $9.95. I may have to check this special out. Thanks for the ad Memphis Flyer.

Finishing my coffee and waffles, I jumped up and ran to the door. And that is when I heard the words “Are you going to pay for that?”

Ohhhh…. Oops. I forgot to pay. Doh! Paying the bill, I started my ride east along the Greenline. Windy this morning? Yes. It was so windy this morning, I didn’t have to use my brakes going downhill at Shelby Farms. And then my left knee started to hurt. Ouch.

Riding home the temperature was excellent. Hello 78 degrees! Many people were out today walking, jogging and biking. My prediction? The Greenline will be packed this spring and summer. Madison bike lanes will be packed as well. Just sayin’. The only problem? The 30 m.p.h. wind gusts today. I had a  t-shirt on and jogging pants. I wish I had planned ahead and brought shorts to wear. In the words of Jeff Spicoli, “Awesome, totally awesome.”  I stopped to take pictures.

A perfect day in the park.

Can you see that large bag in the back basket? Yeah, that’s laundry. But on the other side…

The new bike basket on the right side. To easy.

More? You want more? Alright. Tomorrow is my 9 month mark for commuting to work by bicycle. For those of you playing at home, that is 3 flat tires, 1 bike accident and layers of warm weather gear. The thing you may not know is that I’ve done this before. I commuted so much by bicycle in 1999-2000 that co-workers thought I didn’t own a car. Back then I rode to work at 6:00 a.m., jogged around downtown, worked, rode home about 7.5 miles, THEN worked out for one hour with weights. No body fat back then. Funny how little I remember about riding back then. Best thing in the world is a bike ride to work. Try it Midtown.

In other news, I’m about ten days away from finishing a side project. I put in some good work today on the project. I really liked the way things played out. Sometimes you have a plan, and sometimes the plan has something for you.

And this is how I finished my day.

Ahhh.....

Plan for tomorrow? “Trolley Night” is tomorrow night downtown. Go! We love checking out art and food. Just take a walk around for a while. You will enjoy it. Be back here tomorrow for pictures from the event. Rizzo’s Diner? I hope so!

See you here tomorrow for more bikes, beer, bike baskets and love. Cheers!

