Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Two for Tuesday Midtown. Anyone up for a muffin?

Coffee Town was hopping this morning. I arrived an hour late. Why? No bicycle commute this morning. I had a date with the DMV. Oh yeahhh… gotta love the DMV. I read the news and drank my coffee and ordered a muffin.

Finishing my coffee, I drove to Oakland. Time to wait. And wait. And wait. I did manage to get some work done while waiting though. Finally I took a test and passed. Three hours later, I headed to work. Yes, I have more tests to take. One test down, more tests to go.

After work, I arrived home to find that a book arrived in the mail. “Appetite for Destruction” by Mick Wall.

Rock on....

Classic interviews from the 80’s and 90’s with the likes of GnR, Bon Jovi, Maiden, Metallica, ect. I have read a couple of other books by Wall (the latest is about Metallica) and his books are all solid (his newest book will feature the band AC/DC). Yes I’ve read a few chapters of Destruction. Good stuff.

How do I know Mick Wall’s stuff? Back in 1982, while living in Texas, I would beg my father to drive me downtown near a local college to a local record shop (remember records?) called Hogwild Records. Not only were there great import records (Maiden, Saxon, Scorps) but import magazines as well. One magazine stuck out; Kerrang!. This magazine would show photo’s of my favorite bands from England with stories by none other than Mick Wall. I would read the magazine cover to cover. Yes, I was probably the only kid in my school reading the magazine. Thirty years later and I am still reading Mick Wall.

Today is Mardi Gras. King cakes, big drinks, and parades in New Orleans. The reason we went to New Orleans last month was to skip Mardi Gras. Here is a photo from our visit.

Let the party begin.

Doug over at www.bikinginmemphis.com posted a new story. Take a page from his book and get out and do stuff. Sounds fun and cool.

Tomorrow? Bike ride to work. The days are getting longer and warmer. Come on spring! See you back here tomorrow for more books, coffee and music. Cheers.

Fat Tuesday.

